Cavendish takes career-first GC win in Ster ZLM Toer

Mark Cavendish in points lead, Giro d'Italia 2012, stage 16

Mark Cavendish took a landmark result on Sunday, winning the four-day Ster ZLM Toer overall - his first ever general classification victory.

The Manxman may not have won a stage in the Dutch race, but a consistent performance paid dividends with his first yellow jersey. Stage three winner Lars Boom (Rabobank) finished in second place overall at eight seconds, with Jurgen Roelandts (Lotto-Belisol) in third at 14 seconds.

Thank you for reading 20 articles this month* Join now for unlimited access

Enjoy your first month for just £1 / $1 / €1

*Read 5 free articles per month without a subscription

Join now for unlimited access

Try first month for just £1 / $1 / €1

Nigel Wynn
Former Associate Editor

Nigel Wynn worked as associate editor on, he worked almost single-handedly on the Cycling Weekly website in its early days. His passion for cycling, his writing and his creativity, as well as his hard work and dedication, were the original driving force behind the website’s success. Without him, would certainly not exist on the size and scale that it enjoys today. Nigel sadly passed away, following a brave battle with a cancer-related illness, in 2018. He was a highly valued colleague, and more importantly, an exceptional person to work with - his presence is sorely missed.