Grand Tour organisers to invite all 18 ProTeams

Port de Bales, stage 15, Andy Jones at the Tour de France 2010

The Tour de France, Giro d'Italia and Vuelta a Espana organisers are ready to allow all 18 of the UCI's first division, ProTeams to participate in their races next year. The indication came on Friday in Paris, according to Wielerland, when the International Association of Cycling Race Organisers (AIOCC) agreed with the UCI's new WorldTour structure.

The WorldTour will begin next year and takes the place of the ProTour that began in 2005. The WorldTour contains most all of cycling's top race, but, unlike the ProTour, also includes the three Grand Tours.

Thank you for reading 20 articles this month* Join now for unlimited access

Enjoy your first month for just £1 / $1 / €1

*Read 5 free articles per month without a subscription

Join now for unlimited access

Try first month for just £1 / $1 / €1