David Millar Tour of the Med 2009

Belgian rider Kevin Ista (Agritubel) won Thursday's third stage of the 2009 Tour of the Mediterranean, with Jose Gutierrez (Caisse d'Epargne) maintaining his position at the top of the overall classification.

Five British riders are present at the race - David Millar, Bradley Wiggins (both Garmin-Slipstream), Geraint Thomas, Steve Cummings and Chris Froome (all Barloworld). All have maintained their positions in the top 20 of the race thanks to their performances in the second team time trial stage, with three tough stages remaining.

Thank you for reading 20 articles this month* Join now for unlimited access

Enjoy your first month for just £1 / $1 / €1

*Read 5 free articles per month without a subscription

Join now for unlimited access

Try first month for just £1 / $1 / €1

Nigel Wynn
Former Associate Editor

Nigel Wynn worked as associate editor on CyclingWeekly.com, he worked almost single-handedly on the Cycling Weekly website in its early days. His passion for cycling, his writing and his creativity, as well as his hard work and dedication, were the original driving force behind the website’s success. Without him, CyclingWeekly.com would certainly not exist on the size and scale that it enjoys today. Nigel sadly passed away, following a brave battle with a cancer-related illness, in 2018. He was a highly valued colleague, and more importantly, an exceptional person to work with - his presence is sorely missed.