Mark Cavendish De Panne st3
(Image credit: LUC CLAESSEN)

Mark Cavendish has won this morning's 119-kilometre stage of the Three Days of De Panne in the Belgian coastal town.

It is his second stage win quick succession after he won the longest stage of the race yesterday.

The High Road rider came to the race in great form after winning the Madison title at the World Track Championships with Bradley Wiggins.

This morning he beat Liquigas rider Francesco Chicchi and Borut Bozic of Collstrop.

The race concludes with a short time trial this afternoon. Barloworld's Enrico Gasparotto still has the overall lead.

It means Cavendish will be a hot favourite for next Wednesday's Ghent-Wevelgem ? a race that has seen a fair share of British success over the years.

That winning feeling: Mark Cavendish scores another sprint win at the Three Days of De Panne. Photos by Luc Claessen/ISPA

Swipe to scroll horizontally

The top 20 finishes by British rider's in Belgium's premier midweek Classic.

Mark Cavendish will be one of the favourites for Ghent-Wevelgem next Wednesday. Of all the spring Classics, it's the one where British riders have had the most success. Barry Hoban is the only winner, in 1974, but Tom Simpson, Sean Yates and Roger Hammond have all been runners-up.

Hammond is another man to watch ? particularly if the race does not culminate in a sprint. He's also in good form, played the role of perfect team-mate to last year's winner Marcus Burghardt, and has finished in the top ten three times.


Barry Hoban (1974)


Tom Simpson (1963)

Sean Yates (1989)

Roger Hammond (2007)


Roger Hammond (2003)


Roger Hammond (2000)


Joey McLoughlin (1987)


Barry Hoban (1969)

John Herety (1982)


Barry Hoban (1973)

Swipe to scroll horizontally

Britain's best results at the major Spring Classics

Milan-San Remo - 1964 Tom Simpson

Tour of Flanders - 1961 Tom Simpson

Ghent-Wevelgem - 1974 Barry Hoban

Paris-Roubaix - no British winner. (Hoban third in 1972, Hammond third in 2004)

Amstel Gold - no British winner. (Malcolm Elliott third in 1987)

Flèche Wallonne - no British winner. (Tom Simpson third in 1965)

Liège-Bastogne-Liège - no British winner. (Robert Millar third in 1988)


Cavendish on track for Ghent-Wevelgem

Cavendish wins stage two at Three Days of De Panne

Thank you for reading 20 articles this month* Join now for unlimited access

Enjoy your first month for just £1 / $1 / €1

*Read 5 free articles per month without a subscription

Join now for unlimited access

Try first month for just £1 / $1 / €1