Comeback man Hoy takes maiden national sprint title

Chris Hoy

Cycling Weekly's gallery from day three at the national track championships>>>

Back on the track after missing the end of last season with a hip injury, the Olympic champion wasted no time in showing that he is back to full fitness last night in Manchester. Hoy saw off a star-studded men's sprint field to claim victory.

Oddly - for a 33-year-old champion who has taken track accolades across the board - it is Hoy's first elite national sprint title, having secured silver and bronze medals in the past.

After qualifying fastest, setting a new track record with his ride of 9.99, Hoy had no problems dispatching of Matt Crampton in the gold medal ride-off, after the 23-year-old overcame Jason Kenny in a hard-fought semi final.

Thank you for reading 20 articles this month* Join now for unlimited access

Enjoy your first month for just £1 / $1 / €1

*Read 5 free articles per month without a subscription

Join now for unlimited access

Try first month for just £1 / $1 / €1

Founded in 1891, Cycling Weekly and its team of expert journalists brings cyclists in-depth reviews, extensive coverage of both professional and domestic racing, as well as fitness advice and 'brew a cuppa and put your feet up' features. Cycling Weekly serves its audience across a range of platforms, from good old-fashioned print to online journalism, and video.