bazin wins national trophy mallory park

Mallory Park National Trophy photo gallery by Andy Jones>>

Arctic Racing Team rider Jody Crawforth took over the overall lead in the National Trophy Cyclo-Cross Series after crossing the line second in the latest round at Mallory Park in Leicestershire on Sunday.

Frenchman Nicolas Bazin took victory in the event, crossing the line 21 seconds clear of Crawforth after attacking mid-way through the event. Bazin looked dangerous in the last round he rode in Devon last month, and his potential was realised to great effect on Sunday.

?I?m pleased to have taken the overall lead, but it would?ve been good to win,? said Crawforth afterwards. ?We were at the front early on but once Bazin came through he kept going and got a good gap.

?There was a group of four of us going after him, but my target is the overall and I knew Bazin isn?t eligible for that. I didn?t really want to go after him and tow everyone else around.?

With several foreign riders having been invited to take part, the result featured several Europeans, and Polish rider Mariusz Gil took third spot, another 30 seconds behind Crawforth.

Second Brit was Paul Oldham (Hope Factory Racing) who, after winning the last round, now lies second in the overall with previous leader Ian Field finishing seventh.

Best woman was Derbyshire-based Annie Last (Zepnat RT), who held off Science in rival Suzanne Clarke by 19 seconds. Swift Racing rival Gabby Day was another 17 seconds off the pace in third.

Former British champion Chris Young won the Over-40s event by inches from MI Racing rival Geoff Giddings, while Roy Hunt continued his domination of the over-50s event with another victory.

National Trophy Cyclo-Cross Series (Mallory Park, Leicester).-
1 Nicolas Bazin (France) 1-03-54

2 J Crawforth (Arctic RT) at 21sec

3 M Gil (Poland) at 51sec

4 P Oldham (Hope Factory Racing) at 1-01

5 D Collins (Science in at 1-07

6 S Bowers (Hargroves Cycles) at 1-13

7 I Field (Hargroves Cycles) at 1-47

8 D Willemsens (Belgium) at 2-15

9 S Wearmouth (Picarsso Pulman) at 2-30

10 L Craven (Wheelbase) 3-24

Over-40s.- Chris Young (Team JD Cycles). Over-50s.- Roy Hunt (Colnago). Women.- Annie Last (Zepnat RT). Girls.- Ruby Miller (unattached). Veteran women.- Louise Day (Fat Birds CC). Juniors.- Daniel McLay (Univega).

Ian Field and Nicolas Bazin

Ian Field and Nicolas Bazin

Sue Clarke

Women's series leader Suzanne Clarke on her way to second

Photos by Andy Jones


Mallory Park National Trophy photo gallery by Andy Jones

Round three: Defending champ Oldham scores first cyclo-cross win

Round two: Ian Field third as foreign riders dominate

Round one: Ian Field draws first blood in National Trophy

Thank you for reading 20 articles this month* Join now for unlimited access

Enjoy your first month for just £1 / $1 / €1

*Read 5 free articles per month without a subscription

Join now for unlimited access

Try first month for just £1 / $1 / €1

Founded in 1891, Cycling Weekly and its team of expert journalists brings cyclists in-depth reviews, extensive coverage of both professional and domestic racing, as well as fitness advice and 'brew a cuppa and put your feet up' features. Cycling Weekly serves its audience across a range of platforms, from good old-fashioned print to online journalism, and video.