David Zabriskie: Rider Profile

Date of Birth: 12/01/1979
From: Salt Lake City
Team: Retired
Previous teams: Garmin-Cervelo (2008-2013), Team CSC (2005-2007); US Postal (2001-2004); 7UP/Colorado cyclists (1999-2000)

Career profile
David Zabriskie has won stages in all three Grand Tours and won the US National Time Trial Championship six times. In 2005, he became the third American to wear the leader’s jersey at the Tour de France.

Making his professional debut in 1999, Zabriskie’s early career was plagued with injury as a member of the US Postal team.  In 2004 he returned to form winning the Elite US National Time Trial Championships emphatically.

Despite success on the international cycling scene Zabriskie did not receive much attention in his native USA. This all changed at the 2005 Tour de France when he won the stage one time trial, beating Lance Armstrong by two seconds and setting the record for the fastest time trial in the Tour de France, clocking an average speed of 54.676 km/h. Zabriskie describes this as one of his proudest racing moments.

Zabriskie was honoured in the American state of Utah by the declaration of “Dave Zabriskie Day” by the mayor of Salt Lake City. In 2008 he was selected to ride both the road race and time trial for the US Olympic team in Beijing.

The later years of Zabriskie’s career were highlighted with both individual and team time trial victories, as well as podium places in smaller stage races. Off the bike, however, they were blighted by revelations about his use of performance enhancing drugs while with US Postal, and Zabriskie subsequently served a six month ban which ran between September 2012 and March 2013.

He announced his retirement at the beginning of Il Lombardia, in October 2013.

Race results
National Time Trial Championships
Tour de Langkawi; stage one TT
Tour of Utah; stage two TTT

Tour de Romandie; stage four ITT
Tour of California; stage six ITT
National time trial championships

Tour of California; stage three

Tour of Missouri; stage five
Tour of Missouri; overall
National time trial championships

Giro d’Italia, team time trial
Tour de Georgia, team time trial
National time trial championships

National time trial championships

Dauphine Libere, prologue
Dauphine Libere, stage three
National time trial championships

Tour de France, Prologue
Giro d’Italia, stage eight

Vuelta a Espana, stage 11
National time trial championships

Sea Otter Classic, stage one

David Zabriskie, Tour of Missouri 2009, stage 5 tt

David Zabriskie, Tour of Catalonia 2010, stage three

Cycling Weekly’s Rider Profiles: Index