Mark Cavendish wins Scheldeprijs, his first professional race

Mark Cavendish outsprints Robbie McEwen to win his first pro road race in Belgium

Mark Cavendish Scheldeprijs 2007

Mark Cavendish (T-Mobile) stunned Robbie McEwen (Predictor) and Erik Zabel (Milram) with a late acceleration to win the Scheldeprijs Vlaanderen race in Flanders on Wednesday.

The 21 year-old British rider came around Zabel and then McEwen in the final metres of the bunch sprint to give T-Mobile another important win in the Belgian classics. Gert Steegmans (Quick Step) finished third, with other big-name sprinters such as Graeme Brown (Rabobank) and Baden Cooke ( well beaten.

Thank you for reading 20 articles this month* Join now for unlimited access

Enjoy your first month for just £1 / $1 / €1

*Read 5 free articles per month without a subscription

Join now for unlimited access

Try first month for just £1 / $1 / €1

Founded in 1891, Cycling Weekly and its team of expert journalists brings cyclists in-depth reviews, extensive coverage of both professional and domestic racing, as well as fitness advice and 'brew a cuppa and put your feet up' features. Cycling Weekly serves its audience across a range of platforms, from good old-fashioned print to online journalism, and video.