Chris Froome and Alex Dowsett directors of new British and Irish Pro Cyclists’ Association

Chris Froome and Alex Dowsett on the board of directors for the British and Irish Professional Cyclists’ Association, launched on Friday

Chris Froome at the 2016 Tour de France

(Image credit: Watson)

A new organisation has been launched to represent the views of British and Irish riders at the top level of cycling.

The British and Irish Professional Cyclists’ Association (BIPCA) has Chris Froome, Alex Dowsett and Kristian House on its board of directors, and aims to represent riders' interests in the international Cyclistes Professionnels Associes (CPA). Ben Greetham is chairman, with Matt Brammeier acting as secretary/treasurer.

Thank you for reading 20 articles this month* Join now for unlimited access

Enjoy your first month for just £1 / $1 / €1

*Read 5 free articles per month without a subscription

Join now for unlimited access

Try first month for just £1 / $1 / €1

Nigel Wynn
Former Associate Editor

Nigel Wynn worked as associate editor on, he worked almost single-handedly on the Cycling Weekly website in its early days. His passion for cycling, his writing and his creativity, as well as his hard work and dedication, were the original driving force behind the website’s success. Without him, would certainly not exist on the size and scale that it enjoys today. Nigel sadly passed away, following a brave battle with a cancer-related illness, in 2018. He was a highly valued colleague, and more importantly, an exceptional person to work with - his presence is sorely missed.