Richardson wins Tour of Reservoir

Simon Richardson (
Sigma Sport-Specialized)
soloed to win the Tour of the Reservoir, the opening race in the 2010 Premier Calendar series, in the North-East on Sunday.

Richardson attacked the bunch within the final two laps of the 87-mile (140km) race around the vast Derwent Reservoir. He fought hard to stay away, and clinched the win 54 seconds ahead of second-placed Ian Wilkinson (Endura) and Sweden’s Nicolas Gustavsson (Team Sprocket ProCycling) in third.

>> Subscribe to Cycling Weekly this Autumn and save 35%. Enjoy the luxury of home delivery and never miss an issue <<

The Premier Calendar resumes on Saturday April 3 with the three-day Tour Doon Hame, Dumfries in Scotland.

Tour of the Reservoir 2010
1. Simon Richardson (Sigma Sport-Specialized) in 3-57-08

2. Ian Wilkinson (Endura) at 54secs
3. Nicolas Gustavsson (Team Sprocket ProCycling)
4. Marcin Bialoblocki ( Ciclismo) at same time
5. Tobyn Horton (Team Sprocket ProCycling) at 2-10

Related links

Tour of the Reservoir 2010: The Big Preview


Cycling Weekly subscription thin