Bradley Wiggins will make his debut in Sky colours at the Tour of Qatar starting in the Middle Eastern emirate on Sunday (February 7).

The Briton formed part of the team time trial-winning outfit at Garmin last year – which put Wiggins in the yellow jersey – and returns this year looking to make the first step towards his preparation for the Tour de France this July.

British interest in the race will be strong this year with seven Britons set to ride.

Alex Dowsett will also make his debut in Trek Livestrong colours, joining fellow time-trialling sensation Taylor Phinney to make for some formidable opposition for Sky in the opening team test.

As much as providing an early-season form guide for those looking to peak later in the year, Qatar is also a key stepping stone for Classics riders to reacquaint themselves with vicious cross winds and nervous bunch racing.

Sky will be sending a Classics-dominated line-up with Edvald Boasson Hagen and Juan Antonio Flecha both looking to stretch their winter legs, whilst Quick Step, winners of the race for the past four years, will be sending Tom Boonen and Kevin Van Impe.

What can we expect? Sand, crosswinds, bunch sprints and some fierce racing. 

Quick Step Tour of Qatar stage four

Last year’s winner, Boonen, rides in yellow

Tour of Qatar 2010: Stages

Sunday, February 7: Stage 1 – West Bay Lagoon-West Bay Lagoon, 8.2km TTT, Report>>, Photos>>

Monday, February 8: Stage 2 – Camel Race Track-Qatar Foundation, 147km, Report>>, Photos>>

Tuesday, February 9: Stage 3 – Dukhan-Mesaieed, 136.5km, Report>>, Photos>>

Wednesday, February 10: Stage 4 – The Pearl-Al Khor Corniche, 146.5km, Report>>, Photos>>

Thursday, February 11: Stage 5 – Lusail-Madinat Al Shamal, 142km, Report>>, Photos>>

Friday, February 12: Stage 6 – Al Wakra-Doha Corniche, 123.5km, Report>>

Total distance: 704km

Tour of Qatar 2010: Teams

16 teams are lined up for the Tour of Qatar, with eight riders in each squad.

Ag2r-La Mondiale

BMC Racing Team

Cervelo Test Team






Omega-Pharma Lotto



Saxo Bank

Team Sky

Topsport Vlaanderen-Mercator



Tour of Qatar st3

Tour of Qatar: Sun, sand and cycling

Tour of Qatar 2010: British riders

Start list to be confirmed

Roger Hammond (Cervelo Test Team)

Jeremy Hunt (Cervelo Test Team)

Alex Dowsett (Trek-Livestrong)

Bradley Wiggins (Team Sky)

Ben Swift (Team Sky)

Russell Downing (Team Sky)

Chris Froome (Team Sky)

Tour of Qatar 2010: Television coverage

The Tour of Qatar will be shown on satellite and cable channel British Eurosport. Live coverage of the race is split between Eurosport and Eurosport 2. Highlights will be shown each evening.

Sunday, February 7: 11:00-12:00, stage 1 LIVE, Eurosport 2

Sunday, February 7: 12:15-13:00, stage 1, Eurosport

Monday, February 8: 12:00-13:00, stage 2 LIVE, Eurosport

Tuesday, February 9: 12:00-13:00, stage 3 LIVE, Eurosport 2

Wednesday, February 10: 11:45-13:00, stage 4 LIVE, Eurosport 2

Thursday, February 11: 12:00-13:00, stage 5 LIVE, Eurosport 2

Friday, February 12: 11:00-12:00, stage 6 LIVE, Eurosport

British Eurosport’s 2010 cycling coverage>>

Tour of Qatar: Previous winners

2009: Tom Boonen

2008: Tom Boonen

2007: Wilfried Cretskens

2006: Tom Boonen

2005: Lars Michaelsen

2004: Robert Hunter

2003: Alberto Lodo

2002: Thorsten Wilhelms

Tour of Qatar 2010: Coverage

Stage six report

Stage five report

Stage four report

Stage three report

Stage two report

Stage one TTT report

Tour of Qatar 2010: Photo galleries

Stage five photo gallery

Stage four photo gallery

Stage three photo gallery

Stage two photo gallery

Stage one photo gallery

Related links

Sky leads chase in Qatar, Cervelo have near miss

Boonen says overall victory is still a possibility in Qatar

Arvesen suffers collarbone break in Qatar

Bradley Wiggins set to make Team Sky debut at 2010 Tour of Qatar

2009 Tour of Qatar photo gallery

2010 UCI World Calendar: ProTour and Historic races

Cycling Weekly: Rider Profiles index