Sam Bennett wins Tour of Qatar final stage

Irish sprinter Sam Bennett takes final stage victory as Niki Terpstra seals overall win in 2015 Tour of Qatar. Photos by Graham Watson

Sam Bennett wins stage six of the 2015 Tour of Qatar

(Image credit: Graham Watson)

Sam Bennett (Bora-Argon18) won the final stage of the Tour of Qatar with a powerful and well-timed sprint.

The good form of the Irishman was hinted at by a fifth place finish on stage one, but today’s sprint win was still as surprising as it was impressive, given all the big name sprinters contesting the finale.

Thank you for reading 20 articles this month* Join now for unlimited access

Enjoy your first month for just £1 / $1 / €1

*Read 5 free articles per month without a subscription

Join now for unlimited access

Try first month for just £1 / $1 / €1

Stephen Puddicombe is a freelance journalist for Cycling Weekly, who regularly contributes to our World Tour racing coverage with race reports, news stories, interviews and features. Outside of cycling, he also enjoys writing about film and TV - but you won't find much of that content embedded into his CW articles.