Zabriskie wins Tour of Missouri overall

David Zabriskie, Tour of Missouri 2009, stage 6

David Zabriskie underlined Garmin-Slipstream's great week by winning his first ever stage race at the Tour of Missouri.

The American rider and his US-based team managed to successfully defend his race lead over the weekend, giving Zabriskie his first overall stage race success in nine years as a professional.

Zabriskie's win came thanks to his strong performance in the individual time trial on Friday, which was the only stage that really shook-up the classification in a week of bunch finishes.

Sweden's Gustav Larsson (Saxo Bank) was second overall, with Marco Pinotti (Columbia-HTC) third. Pre-race favourite Levi Leipheimer was sixth, one minute and nine seconds adrift of Zabriskie.

The final circuit-based stage was won by Martin Gilbert (Planet Energy), who out-accelerated fellow Canadian Andrew Pinfold (OUCH-Maxxis) and sprint classification leader Thor Hushovd (Cervelo) to secure the final stage.

It was a punishing finale to the race, which saw many riders drop out on its 114.9km route including stage four winner and former race leader Juan Jose Haedo (Saxo Bank).

Earlier in the race double stage winner Mark Cavendish (Columbia-HTC) withdrew due a respiratory infection. The British sprinter is now resting ahead of the World Championships in Mendrisio, Switzerland, at the end of the month.


Tour of Missouri 2009: Stage seven, Kansas City, 114.9km

1. Martin Gilbert (Can) Planet Energy in 2-33-11

2. Andrew Pinfold (Can) OUCH-Maxxis

3. Thor Hushovd (Nor) Cervelo

4. Bernhard Eisel (Aut) Columbia-HTC

5. Kyle Wamsley (USA) Colavita-Sutter Home

6. Francesco Chicchi (Ita) Liquigas

7. John Murphy (USA) OUCH-Maxxis

8. Dario Cataldo (Ita) Quick Step

9. Davide Frattini (Ita) Colavita-Sutter Home

10. Alex Candelario (USA) Kelly Benefit Strategies all same time.

Final overall classification

1. David Zabriskie (USA) Garmin-Slipstream

2. Gustav Larsson (Swe) Saxo Bank at 30sec

3. Marco Pinotti (Ita) Columbia-HTC at 42sec

4. Tom Zirbel (USA) Bissell Pro Cycling at 44sec

5. Dario Cataldo (Ita) Quick Step at 1-02

6. Levi Leipheimer (USA) Astana at 1-09

7. Ben Jacques-Maynes (USA) Bissell Pro Cycling at 1-13

8. Dominique Cornu (Bel) Quick Step at 1-15

9. Lars Ytting Bak (Den) Saxo Bank at 1-16

10. Rory Sutherland (Aus) OUCH-Maxxis at 1-22

Related links

Stage six: Chicchi wins penultimate stage

Stage five: Zabriskie gives Garmin second victory of the day

Stage four: Haedo comes good

Cavendish withdraws from Missouri with illness

Stage three: Hushovd wins stage and takes lead

Stage two: Cavendish takes his second stage

Stage one: Cavendish wins opening stage

Mark Cavendish: Rider Profile

Cavendish to miss Tour of Britain

Leipheimer to ride Missouri


Thank you for reading 20 articles this month* Join now for unlimited access

Enjoy your first month for just £1 / $1 / €1

*Read 5 free articles per month without a subscription

Join now for unlimited access

Try first month for just £1 / $1 / €1