Pozzovivo wins Giro del Trentino overall

Cycling Weekly news logo

Domenico Pozzovivo (Colnago-CSF Inox) won the four-day Giro de Trentino overall classification on Friday.

The Italian took the penultimate stage win on Thursday, and then managed to limit his time loss on the final snow-tinged stage to Passo Pordoi to take the biggest win of his career to date.

Colombian Darwin Atapuma (Colombia - Coldeportes) took the final stage victory with compatriot Carlos Betancur (Acqua & Sapone) in second at three seconds and Pozzovivo in third at six seconds.

Damiano Cunego (Lampre-ISD) came fifth on the last stage and finished second overall in the UCI 2.HC-level race. He now travels to Belgium to contest Liege-Bastogne-Liege on Sunday in good shape.


Giro del Trentino 2012, stage four: Castelletto Di Brenzone to Passo Pordoi, 177.5km

1. Darwin Atapuma Hurtado (Col) Colombia-Coldeportes in 4-37-03

2. Carlos Alberto Betancur Gomez (Col) Acqua & Sapone at 3 secs

3. Domenico Pozzovivo (Ita) Colnago-CSF Inox at 16 secs

4. Sylvester Szmyd (Pol) Liquigas-Cannondale at 17 secs

5. Damiano Cunego (Ita) Lampre-ISD at same time

6. Jose Guillen (Ven) Androni Giocattoli at 21 secs

7. Hubert Dupont (Fra) Ag2 La Mondiale at 30 secs

8. Kevin Seeldraeyers (Bel) Astana at 1-06

9. Miguel Rubiano (Col) Androni Giocattoli at 1-20

10. Pierre Rolland (Fra) Europcar at 1-27

Final overall classification

1. Domenico Pozzovivo (Ita) Colnago-CSF Inox in 12-57-47

2. Damiano Cunego (Ita) Lampre-ISD at 40 secs

3. Sylvester Szmyd (Pol) Liquigas-Cannondale at 1-04

4. Carlos Betancur (Col) Acqua & Sapone at 1-42

5. Jose Rujano (Ven) Androni Giocattoli at 2-07

6. Roman Kreuziger (Cze) Astana at 2-33

7. Hubert Dupont (Fra) Ag2r La Mondiale at 2-34

8. Darwin Atapuma Hurtado (Col) Colombia-Coldeportes at 3-55

9. Marco Pinotti (Ita) BMC Racing at 4-01

10. Mathias Frank (Swi) BMC Racing at 4-05

Related links

BMC win Giro del Trentino team time trial

Liege-Bastogne-Liege 2012: The Big Preview

Thank you for reading 20 articles this month* Join now for unlimited access

Enjoy your first month for just £1 / $1 / €1

*Read 5 free articles per month without a subscription

Join now for unlimited access

Try first month for just £1 / $1 / €1

Nigel Wynn
Former Associate Editor

Nigel Wynn worked as associate editor on CyclingWeekly.com, he worked almost single-handedly on the Cycling Weekly website in its early days. His passion for cycling, his writing and his creativity, as well as his hard work and dedication, were the original driving force behind the website’s success. Without him, CyclingWeekly.com would certainly not exist on the size and scale that it enjoys today. Nigel sadly passed away, following a brave battle with a cancer-related illness, in 2018. He was a highly valued colleague, and more importantly, an exceptional person to work with - his presence is sorely missed.