Jonathan Shubert wins National 24-hour time trial

British time trial round-up (June 21-22): News and results from around the UK

Time Trial news logo

Jonathan Shubert (High Wycombe CC) won the 2014 National 24-Hour Championship after an impressive performance in the title race in East Sussex.

Shubert clocked up around 516 miles to beat reigning champion Ultan Coyle (Look Mum No Hands) by 11 miles, with Cardiff Ajax rider Toby Hopper third with 495 miles.

And in the women’s race, Lynne Biddulph (Born to Bike) made it five titles when she successfully defended her 2013 title with 449 miles, while second spot went to Marina Bloom (Rugby RCC) with 410 miles.

Exact distances were yet to be confirmed by Cycling Time Trials.

Elsewhere, reigning national hill-climb champion Tejvan Pettinger (Sri Chinmoy CT) showed he is equally skilled at longer distances when he won the Eastern Counties CA 100 at Ugley in Essex on Sunday morning.

The Oxford-based rider clocked 3-34-19 to take the win by a confident three minute margin from Jon Wynn (Northover Vets), while Joel Wainman (Team Swift) clocked 3-39-13 for third spot.

There were some fast times clocked on the R10/22 course near Resolven in Wales on Sunday, where Justyn Cannon (RAF CA) took victory by seven seconds with his time of 48-01.

He pushed out Kieron Davies (Team NBCC) for the win, while Rob Pears (Pro Cycling Magazine) was third, just five seconds further adrift.

In Derbyshire, Matt Bottrill ( completed his preparations for Thursday’s British TT Championships in Wales when he won the Walsall RCC 25 on the Etwall to Uttoxeter course.

He clocked 47-02 to win by more than two minutes from Keith Murray (Ferryhill Wheelers). Third spot went to Daniel Barnet ( who clocked 49-59.

A day later, Murray went one better when he won the Yorkshire Road Club 25 at Thirsk, North Yorkshire.He clocked 50-11 to win by more than two minutes from Richard Robinson (Scunthorpe Poly CC), and go just seven seconds short of the course record.

Near the Norfolk/Suffolk border, Andrew Leggett (Stowmarket and District CC) won the VC Baracchi 50 near Wortwell by almost two minutes. He covered the B50/17 in 1-55-22, while second spot went to John Swindells (Iceni Velo) with 1-57-15.

Stowmarket also won the team prize, while fastest female was Mary Bower (GB Cycles) in a course record time of 2-09-26.

In London’s Richmond Park, Jamie Francis (London Dynamo) and Maryka Sennema (Kingston Wheelers) were the respective men’s and women’s winners in the road bike TT event, Francis clocking 24-43 and Sennema 27-18.

And among the TT bike riders, Detta Guerrini (Boom Cycle) took the win in 25-48, with Rob Sharland (Kingston Wheelers) fastest man in 23-18.

In Wiltshire, Jeff Jones ( won the Newbury Road Club 10 at Kingston Bagpuize with a time of 19-39. He was 42 seconds faster than runner-up Michael Ford (Blazing Saddles), while the promoting club;s Tim Cartwright took third place with 20-26.

VC St Raphael’s Jack Green won by just three seconds in the Buxton CC 10 at Whaley Bridge in Cheshire, clocking 20-36 to push David McGaw (Cambridge CC) into second spot. Andrew Newby (Nonna La Squadra) clocked 21-29 for third spot, while best woman was Alex Deck (Langsett Cycles) with 23-57.

And Sam Bradford (PMR @ Toachim House) won Thanet Road Club’s 10 at Fowlmead in Kent with a time of 22-04. That was 11sec faster than Adrian Lyons (GS Invicta) in second. Louise Mason clocked 24-11 to finish 12th overall and best female, while top Under-16 was the promoting club’s Oliver Dickson with 24-05 for tenth overall.

Katie Archibald wins Curlew Cup

British road race round-up (June 21-22): News and results from around the UK

Thank you for reading 20 articles this month* Join now for unlimited access

Enjoy your first month for just £1 / $1 / €1

*Read 5 free articles per month without a subscription

Join now for unlimited access

Try first month for just £1 / $1 / €1