Michael Hutchinson wins Chronos RT 10-mile time trial

British time trial round-up (August 16-17): News and results from around the UK

Michael Hutchinson, 3rd, National 25-mile time trial championships 2013

Defending National 10-mile champion Michael Hutchinson (In Gear-QUickvit RT) displayed his good current form when he won the Chronos RT 10 in Cambridgeshire on Saturday.

Hutchinson, last man off in the 2014 title race in East Yorkshire at the end of the month, clocked 19-19 to win on the F2A/10 at Hardwick by ten seconds from Ashley Cox (CC Luton) with 19-29.

Edmund Bradbury (Cambridge Univ CC) clocked 19-54 for third place, while Emily Robertson (CC Luton) was fastest female with 21-55.

National hill-climb champion Tejvan Pettinger (Sri Chinmoy CT) won the North Hampshire RC 25 at Bentley on Sunday. He clocked 51-59 to win by 38 seconds from Nick English (AW Cycles).

Third spot went to Wouter Sybrandy (Sigma Sport), another five seconds back, while Bronwen Ewing (Trainsharp) clocked 58-11 to win the women’s category.

In South Yorkshire, Daniel Barnett (North Notts Olympic CC) held off the challenge of several Team Swift riders to take victory in the Kiveton Park CC 25 at Hatfield Woodhouse on Saturday.

40-year-old Barnett covered the O25/11 course in 53-59 to win by just six seconds, while Team Swift filled the next four places with Alastair Wareham clocking 54-06 for second and Rob Townsend 54-28 for third.

In other categories, fourth-placed Robby Krygsman (Team Swift) was fastest vet on standard with a plus 13-07, while best of the women was Karen Ledger (WCS RT) with 1-01-42.

GS Metro’s Carl Donaldson clocked 46-36 to win the Ryton Tri 21 at Belsay in Northumberland, a convincing 2-24 ahead of Team Swift’s Blaine Metcalf in second with 49-00.

Lee McDermott (Wansbeck CC) was another 23 seconds back in third, while Angela Hibbs (Tyneside Vagabonds) was fastest female with 54-55.

In Shropshire, Marc Colclough (Rhos on Sea CC) won the Wrekinsport CC 25 at Hodnet in a time of 53-54, which gave him the win by 16 seconds from David Williams (Fibrax-Wrexham RT), while Dave Griffiths (Paramount CRT) was another eight seconds back in third.

Steve Liddle (Ben Wyvis CC) won the Dunrobin Castle 10 at Rogart in Scotland by 38 seconds. He stopped the clock in 24-50, while runner-up was veteran Alan Dobbie (Ronde CC) with 25-28 and junior Neil Fleming (East Sutherland Wheelers) was third with 26-01.

North Devon Wheelers were celebrating a 1-2 in the CS Dynamo Four-Up 25 at Chumleigh, despite losing a rider to a puncture from their winning quartet on Sunday.

Mark Lees punctured, but the remaining three continued on to clock 52-24 and win by almost four minutes. Blake Pond, Harry Snow and Sean Henderson were the winners, while the club’s second string took second spot – Phil Morrish, Pete Morrish, Ollie Wright and Nick Butler.

Thank you for reading 20 articles this month* Join now for unlimited access

Enjoy your first month for just £1 / $1 / €1

*Read 5 free articles per month without a subscription

Join now for unlimited access

Try first month for just £1 / $1 / €1

Snowdon Sports is a long-established independent sports news agency, which supplies editorial to a range of media outlets - such as Cycling Weekly - as well as sports governing bodies. Snowdon Sports often covers results at Cycling Time Trials events in the UK and has long been a source of information and imagery to Cycling Weekly.