Chris Froome given Velo d'Or award for best rider of the year after winning Tour/Vuelta double

Team Sky rider named best rider of the 2017 season

Chris Froome has been given the Velo d'Or award for the best rider of the year after becoming the first rider to win the Tour de France and Vuelta a España in the same season since the Vuelta was moved to its current slot in the calendar in 1995

Froome has previously won the award in 2013 and 2015, and is only the second rider to win the award on three occasions after Alberto Contador won it in three consecutive years between 2007 and 2009.

Thank you for reading 20 articles this month* Join now for unlimited access

Enjoy your first month for just £1 / $1 / €1

*Read 5 free articles per month without a subscription

Join now for unlimited access

Try first month for just £1 / $1 / €1

Henry Robertshaw began his time at Cycling Weekly working with the tech team, writing reviews, buying guides and appearing in videos advising on how to dress for the seasons. He later moved over to the news team, where his work focused on the professional peloton as well as legislation and provision for cycling. He's since moved his career in a new direction, with a role at the Department for Environment, Food and Rural Affairs.