Giro d'Italia Women 2024: Everything you need to know

Giro d'Italia Women 2024, formerly known as the Giro d'Italia Donne, will take place in Italy from 7 to 14 July

Giro d'Italia Women former winner Annemiek van Vleuten
(Image credit: Getty Images)

The Giro d'Italia Women 2024, the 35th edition of the Italian stage race, has been through yet another re-branding. The race started in 1988 as Giro d'Italia Femminile before changing its name to Giro Rosa in 2013 and then taking the name Giro Donne from 2021 to 2023.

It has dropped up and down the ranks, having and losing UCI women's WorldTour status, before regaining this accolade in 2022, alongside increases in prize money and promises of improved television coverage.

Swipe to scroll horizontally
DatesSunday 7 - Sunday 14 July
Start locationBrescia, Lombardia
Finish locationL'Aquila, Abruzzo
UCI rankingWomen's WorldTour
Total distance856.6km (532 miles)
Total climbing / elevation gain11,950 metres
2023 winnerAnnemiek Van Vleuten (Movistar)
Leader's jersey colourPink
TV coverage (UK)Eurosport
Swipe to scroll horizontally
Giro d'Italia Women 2024 stages
StageDayStart locationFinish locationDistanceTerrain
One7 July 2024BresciaBrescia14.6kmITT
Two8 July 2024SirmioneVolta Mantovana102kmFlat
Three9 July 2024SabbionetaToano111kmHilly
Four8 July 2024ImolaUrbino131kmHilly
Five8 July 2024FrontoneFoligno111kmFlat
Six8 July 2024San Benedetto del TrontoChieti155kmHilly
Seven8 July 2024LancianoBlockhaus123kmMountains
Eight8 July 2024PescaraL'Aquila109kmMountains
  • 2023: Annemiek van Vleuten (Ned)
  • 2022: Annemiek van Vleuten (Ned)
  • 2021: Anna van der Breggen (Ned)
  • 2020: Anna van der Breggen (Ned)
  • 2019: Annemiek van Vleuten (Ned)
  • 2018: Annemiek van Vleuten (Ned)
  • 2017: Anna van der Breggen (Ned)
  • 2016: Megan Guarnier (USA)
  • 2015: Anna van der Breggen (Ned)
  • 2014: Marianne Vos (Ned)
  • 2013: Mara Abbott (USA)
  • 2012: Marianne Vos (Ned)
  • 2011: Marianne Vos (Ned)
  • 2010: Mara Abbott (USA)
  • 2009: Claudia Häusler (Ger)
  • 2008: Fabiana Luperini (Ita)
  • 2007: Edita Pučinskaitė (Ltu)
  • 2006: Edita Pučinskaitė (Ltu)
  • 2005: Nicole Brändli (Sui)
  • 2004: Nicole Cooke (Gbr)
  • 2003: Nicole Brändli (Sui)
  • 2002: Svetlana Bubnenkova (Rus)
  • 2001: Nicole Brändli (Sui)
  • 2000: Joane Somarriba (Esp)

Thank you for reading 20 articles this month* Join now for unlimited access

Enjoy your first month for just £1 / $1 / €1

*Read 5 free articles per month without a subscription

Join now for unlimited access

Try first month for just £1 / $1 / €1

Anne-Marije Rook
North American Editor

Cycling Weekly's North American Editor, Anne-Marije Rook is old school. She holds a degree in journalism and started out as a newspaper reporter — in print! She can even be seen bringing a pen and notepad to the press conference.

Originally from The Netherlands, she grew up a bike commuter and didn't find bike racing until her early twenties when living in Seattle, Washington. Strengthened by the many miles spent darting around Seattle's hilly streets on a steel single speed, Rook's progression in the sport was a quick one. As she competed at the elite level, her journalism career followed, and soon she became a full-time cycling journalist. She's now been a cycling journalist for 11 years.