British Olympic men's road race team announced

Mark Cavendish wins, London-Surrey Cycle Classic 2011

Mark Cavendish, Chris Froome, David Millar, Ian Stannard and Bradley Wiggins will make up Great Britain's five-man team in the cycling road race at the London 2012 Olympic Games on July 28.

Cavendish goes into the road race as one of the hot favourites to take the win, and will be supported in the race by his four team-mates. Froome and newly-crowned British road race champion Stannard will make their Olympic Games debut this year.

Thank you for reading 20 articles this month* Join now for unlimited access

Enjoy your first month for just £1 / $1 / €1

*Read 5 free articles per month without a subscription

Join now for unlimited access

Try first month for just £1 / $1 / €1

Nigel Wynn
Former Associate Editor

Nigel Wynn worked as associate editor on, he worked almost single-handedly on the Cycling Weekly website in its early days. His passion for cycling, his writing and his creativity, as well as his hard work and dedication, were the original driving force behind the website’s success. Without him, would certainly not exist on the size and scale that it enjoys today. Nigel sadly passed away, following a brave battle with a cancer-related illness, in 2018. He was a highly valued colleague, and more importantly, an exceptional person to work with - his presence is sorely missed.