Armstrong's RadioShack Tour de France team named

RadioShack chase, Criterium du Dauphine 2010, stage 4

Team RadioShack manager Johan Bruyneel announced the squad's nine-man line-up for the 2010 Tour de France via a web video boradcast on Tuesday afternoon.

Lance Armstrong will lead a strong team consisting of Andreas Kloden (Ger), Levi Leipheimer (USA), Chris Horner (USA), Janez Brajkovic (Slo), Sergio Paulinho (Por), Yaroslav Popovych (Ukr), Gregory Rast (Swi) and Dmitriy Muravyev (Kaz).

Armstrong will be bidding to win his eighth Tour de France, having won the race between 1999 and 2005. The Texan already holds the record for the most tour wins by one rider - seven.

Armstrong finished the 2009 Tour in third place overall behind winner Alberto Contador (Astana) and second-placed Andy Schleck (Saxo Bank). Britain's Bradley Wiggins was fourth.

In addition to Armstrong, Kloden and Leipheimer have also appeared on the Tour podium. Kloden was runner-up in 2004 and 2006 (after Floyd Landis's result was annulled). Leipheimer was third overall in 2007.

Brajkovic won the 2010 Criterium du Dauphine, giving the US-based squad its biggest win to date.

RadioShack's will be one of the most cosmopolitan squads in the Tour, with seven nations represented by the nine riders.

The 2010 Tour de France starts in Rotterdam on Saturday, July 3, and finishes in Paris on Sunday, July 25.

Related links

Tour de France 2010: Cycling Weekly's coverage index

Lance Armstrong: Rider Profile

Thank you for reading 20 articles this month* Join now for unlimited access

Enjoy your first month for just £1 / $1 / €1

*Read 5 free articles per month without a subscription

Join now for unlimited access

Try first month for just £1 / $1 / €1