Track World Cup round two kicks off on Thursday

Becky James in Keirin, Track World Cup, Manchester 2013, day 3

The second round of the 2013/14 UCI Track World Cup commences on Thursday (December 5) in Aguascalientes, Mexico.

Great Britain travels to Mexico with a full-strength team as the preparations for 2016 Olympic Games qualification and selection begin to hot up.

Britain's men and women's team pursuit squads were victorious in the opening round in Manchester in November, as were Joanna Rowsell in the individual pursuit and Laura Trott in the omnium. Katie Archibald rejoins GB after scooping silver and bronze in Manchester whilst riding for Scotland.

Germany stamped its mark on the sprint events, with Kristina Vogel winning the sprint, keirin and assisting in the team sprint win. Her compatriot Robert Forstemann also won in the sprint and team sprint. Britain were somewhat off the pace of the Germans, and it will be interesting to see if the intervening weeks have sharpened them up.

Australian sprinter and nine-time world champion Anna Meares will be hoping to perform better than she did in Manchester, where she came away without a medal. Meares made her return to racing in Manchester after taking an extended break after the 2012 Olympic Games.

The 2013/14 UCI Track World Cup concludes with round three in January, which also takes place in Mexico - at the Guadalajara velodrome.

The action will be shown live via the UCI's YouTube channel.

Schedule (finals)

Thursday, December 5

Women's team pursuit

Women's team sprint

Men's team pursuit

Women's points race

Men's team sprint

Friday, December 6

Women's 500m time trial

Women's individual pursuit

Men's omnium final round

Men's scratch race

Women's keirin

Men's sprint

Saturday, December 7

Men's kilometre time trial

Women's omnium final

Men's Madison

Men's keirin

Women's sprint

Great Britain team

Men's sprint

Matt Crampton

Kian Emadi

Jason Kenny

Phil Hindes

Women's sprint

Becky James

Jess Varnish

Men's endurance

Steven Burke

Ed Clancy

Jon Dibben

Owain Doull

Sam Harrison

Women's endurance

Katie Archibald

Elinor Barker

Dani King

Joanna Rowsell

Laura Trott

Related links

Full strength British team for Mexico Track World Cup

Thank you for reading 20 articles this month* Join now for unlimited access

Enjoy your first month for just £1 / $1 / €1

*Read 5 free articles per month without a subscription

Join now for unlimited access

Try first month for just £1 / $1 / €1

Nigel Wynn
Former Associate Editor

Nigel Wynn worked as associate editor on, he worked almost single-handedly on the Cycling Weekly website in its early days. His passion for cycling, his writing and his creativity, as well as his hard work and dedication, were the original driving force behind the website’s success. Without him, would certainly not exist on the size and scale that it enjoys today. Nigel sadly passed away, following a brave battle with a cancer-related illness, in 2018. He was a highly valued colleague, and more importantly, an exceptional person to work with - his presence is sorely missed.