Young riders represent GB at Beijing World Cup

British Cycling selectors have drawn-up the 11 rider squad that will represent Great Britain at the Beijing round of the UCI Track World Cup from January 21-23.

The young squad bound for China has been predominately selected from the Olympic Academy Programme to give them valuable experience on the world stage. Sam Harrison, Simon Yates and Phillip Hindes all make their World Cup debut.

Performance Manager Shane Sutton said: “The Track World Cup in Beijing is a great opportunity for the young squad to gain experience at World Cup level against world-class competition.

“Our Podium riders competed in the first two rounds of the World Cup Series and are now focused on preparations for the final round of the World Cup series held at our home velodrome in Manchester where we’re planning on fielding a full-strength squad.”

The final round of 2010/11 World Cup takes place in Manchester on February 18-20.

Team GB: Beijing Track World Cup
Male Endurance
Mark Christian
Andrew Fenn
Sam Harrison
Jon Mould
Erick Rowsell
Simon Yates

Male Sprint
Dave Daniell
Phillip Hindes
Peter Mitchell

Female Endurance
Lizzie Armitstead

Female Sprint
Rebecca James