Time Trial news logo

Reigning National Time Trial Series champion Matt Bottrill (Drag 2 Zero) warmed up for the start of the 2012 series with a storming victory in the A5 Rangers 31-mile time trial in Northamptonshire on Saturday.

Bottrill clocked 1-09-00 to win by more than five minutes from his nearest rivals, brothers Luke and Ross Clarke of Team Milton Keynes, who finished second and third respectively with 1-14-18 and 1-14-28.

Further south, there was a good field of riders tackling a similar distance in the Bournemouth Jubilee Wheelers 42-kilometre event at Wool in Dorset.

Hainault RC's Russell Kober took the win by 33 seconds, while Somerset RC's Dean Robson was second, 21 seconds ahead of VC St Raphael's Simon Berogna in third.

Over shorter distances, Maldon and District CC staged a hilly 18-mile event at Woodham Walter, and it was the promoting club's Scott Cousin who took victory by more than three and a half minutes, clocking 44-20 to leave Simon Daw (CC Sudbury) second.

The classic Longridge circuit in Lancashire played host to the Ribble Valley CRC 19-mile SPOCO event on Sunday, and it was Lune RCC's Adrian Dalgleish who took the win with a time of 46-31, just over a minute ahead of Boneshakers' Steve Smales.

There was another hilly SPOCO on the other side of the country, this time a 21-mile Tyne Tees SPOCO event staged by Barnesbury CC on the Belsay course in Northumberland.

Ian Taylor (Adept Precision RT) took the win by a minute and a half, clocking 47-52 to push Berwick Wheelers' Chris Isats into second sport, while GS Metro's Ben Lane was third, another 23 seconds slower.

In Shropshire, Andy Bason (Team Pedal Revolution.co.uk) won the Oswestry Paragon CC hilly 17-mile time trial, covering the distance in 43-58 to win by 1-48 from Paramount CRT's Richard Watson.

Over shorter and more conventional distances, there was a new course record set in the Manchester and District TTA 10 at Goostrey, where 19-year-old Sam Harrison (100 Per Cent ME) won with 20-25, a full minute quicker than his nearest rival.

And as well as his course record, the juvenile event record also fell to Joe Evans (Velocity RT) with 22-37.

Further south, Adam Topham (High Wycombe CC) had a good day in the Farnborough and Camberley CC 10 at Bentley in Hampshire.

His time of 19-54 was good enough for overall victory, and he also won the fastest veteran and best veteran on standard prizes.

Also going under the 20-minute mark was Matt Sinclair (Lutterworth Cycle Centre) whose time of 19-58 in the A10/21 gave him victory in the Retford and District Wheelers event by 27 seconds from James Coleman (Witham Wheelers) on a day where gusty winds made the going tough for most.

Related links

Berry breaks East Surrey Hardriders record

Cycling Weekly's time trial news section

Thank you for reading 20 articles this month* Join now for unlimited access

Enjoy your first month for just £1 / $1 / €1

*Read 5 free articles per month without a subscription

Join now for unlimited access

Try first month for just £1 / $1 / €1