British Cycling announces list of funded riders ahead of Rio 2016

British Cycling has confirmed the list of riders who will receive support and funding during 2013, ultimately heading towards the 2016 Olympic and Paralympic Games in Rio.

Full lists of riders who will be part of BC’s Olympic Podium Programme (OPP), Olympic Academy Programme (OAP) and Olympic Development Programme (ODP) have been detailed.

The top-tier OPP contains those athletes already performing at the highest level in international competition, whilst the OAP and ODP are designed to give riders experience and coaching so that they can progress to the OPP.

All Olympic and Paralympic cycling disciplines are part of the programme, including track, road, time trial, BMX and mountain bike.

Such is Britain’s current strength in international cycling, the list includes Tour de France, Vuelta a Espana and Giro d’Italia stage winners, world champions and world cup champions as well as Olympic and Paralympic champions… and a certain Tour de France winner. 

“We continue with a strong squad of podium riders, all of whom we believe have medal potential for 2016,” said BC performance director David Brailsford.

“It’s exciting to see Becky James progress on to the final stage of the performance pathway and fill the big gap that Victoria Pendleton left when she retired. Professional road riders Josh Edmondson, Lucy Martin and Katie Colclough are also included on the 2013 Olympic Podium Programme.”

The women’s endurance academy returns with junior road race world champion Lucy

Garner joined by Amy Roberts as they progress from the ODP.

“These girls are all signed with road teams, but show exceptional talent on the track with Elinor Barker already stepping up and winning a gold medal in the team pursuit at the world championships in Minsk which puts her straight onto podium level funding, so it’s great that they can continue their development on the British Cycling pathways,” said Brailsford.

“Overall, I think we’re in a good place on the pathway to Rio,” concluded Brailsford. 

British cyclists won 12 medals in the London 2012 Olympic Games and 14 in the 2008 Games in Beijing – both included eight gold medals. On both occasions, Britain topped the medal table for cycling events.

Olympic Podium Programme

Matt Crampton
Kian Emadi
Philip Hindes
Becky James
Jason Kenny
Lewis Oliva
Callum Skinner
Jess Varnish
Victoria Williamson

Men’s Endurance
George Atkins
Steven Burke
Mark Cavendish
Ed Clancy
Steve Cummings
Jon Dibben
Alex Dowsett
Josh Edmondson
Ross Edgar
Andy Fenn
Chris Froome
Sam Harrison
Pete Kennaugh
Luke Rowe
Ian Stannard
Ben Swift
Andy Tennant
Geraint Thomas
Sir Bradley Wiggins
Simon Yates

Women’s Endurance
Lizzie Armitstead
Elinor Barker
Katie Colclough
Dani King
Lucy Martin
Emma Pooley
Joanna Rowsell
Laura Trott

Liam Phillips
Shanaze Reade

Mountain Bike
Annie Last
David Fletcher
Kenta Gallagher

Jon Allan Butterworth
Mark Colbourne
Jody Cundy
Karen Darke
Fiona Duncan
Neil Fachie
Anthony Kappes
Darren Kenny
Crystal Lane
Craig MacLean
Aileen McGylnn
Shaun McKeown
Pete Mitchell
Rachel Morris
Jason Queally
Helen Scott
David Stone
Dame Sarah Storey
Lauryn Therin
Lora Turnham

Olympic Academy Programme

Rosie Blount
Katy Marchant
Matt Rotherham

Men’s Endurance
Owain Doull
Joe Kelly
Chris Latham
Sam Lowe
Ali Slater

Women’s Endurance
Lucy Garner
Amy Roberts

Kyle Evans
Grant Hill
Curtis Manaton
Dan McBride
Abbie Taylor
Tre Whyte

Mountain Bike
Bethany Crumpton
Grant Ferguson

Brian Alldis
Terry Byrne
Rhiannon Henry

Olympic Development Programme

Hannah Blount
Sophie Capewell
Ellie Coster
Leon Gledhill
Jack Hoyle
Danielle Khan
Thomas Scammell

Germain Burton
Gabriel Cullaigh
Scott Davies
Joe Evans
Tao Geoghegan Hart
Matt Gibson
Bethany Hayward
Hayley Jones
Emily Kay
Chris Lawless
Melissa Lowther
Zachery May
Emily Nelson
Jacob Ragan
Oliver Wood

Charlotte Green
Quillan Isidore
Dan Pullen
Jacob Roberts
Ryan Stack

Mountain Bike
Alice Barnes
Lucy Grant
Billy Harding
Dylan Kerfoot Robson
Iain Paton
Jack Ravenscroft
Samuel Stean
Mike Thompson

Megan Boyd
Matt Ellis
Corrine Hall
Andy Kelsey
Simon Price
Sophie Thornhill
Jaco Van Gass
Jonathan Wren

Related links
London 2012 cycling events medal table

Read Cycling Weekly magazine on the day of release wherever you are in the world with our iPad and iPhone edition – International digital edition, UK digital edition. And if you like us, rate us!