Cavendish heads British Cycling’s Worlds long list

Mark Cavendish heads British Cycling’s long list of riders to represent Great Britain at the 2011 road world championships in Copenhagen, Denmark, over September 19-25.

Britain qualified for eight places in the men’s road race event, and Cavendish is spearheading the country’s bid for the world title. He will be backed by one of the strongest British squads ever seen at the championships on a course that suits the Manxman’s explosive sprint finish.

The women’s road race team is equally as strong, with Emma Pooley, reigning Olympic champion Nicole Cooke and Lizzie Armitstead among those vying for a place on the seven-woman team.

Current Vuelta a Espana overall leader Bradley Wiggins will contest the men’s time trial alongside 2010 runner-up David Millar and on-form Alex Dowsett.

British time trial multi-champion Julia Shaw has been selected alongside current world champion Emma Pooley and Sharon Laws in the women’s time trial.

“This is the biggest team we’ve taken to a Road World Championships demonstrating the continuous progression of road racing in the UK,” said British Cycling performance manager David Brailsford.

“It’s great to see the positive impact that Team Sky has had on young developing riders, with Geraint Thomas, Chris Froome, Pete Kennaugh and Alex Dowsett all being long-listed.

“We are heading to the road Worlds with serious aspirations this year. The long-listed team will be narrowed down over the next week, and everyone on the team – both riders and support staff – is excited about the event.”

Cavendish abandoned the Vuelta a Espana on stage four due to an unspecified illness, which has raised questions over his racing fitness going into the world championships. There is still a chance that he may ride the Tour of Britain (September 11-18) as last-minute preparation for the Worlds.

Cavendish won the London-Surrey Cycle Classic Olympic test event on August 14 in Great Britain colours, seen by many as a dry run for the Worlds as much as a leg tester for next year’s Games.

Elite Men’s Road Race (Eight places)
Mark Cavendish
Steve Cummings
Alex Dowsett
Chris Froome
Jeremy Hunt
Pete Kennaugh
Dan Lloyd
David Millar
Ian Stannard
Ben Swift
Geraint Thomas
Bradley Wiggins

Elite Men’s Time Trial (Two places)
Alex Dowsett
David Millar
Bradley Wiggins

Elite Women’s Road Race (Seven places)
Lizzie Armitstead
Katie Colclough
Nicole Cooke
Catherine Hare
Nikki Harris
Sharon Laws
Lucy Martin
Emma Pooley
Emma Trott

Elite Women’s Time Trial (Three places)
Sharon Laws
Emma Pooley
Julia Shaw

U23 Men’s Road Race (Five/six places – to be confirmed after Nations Cup)
Mark Christian
Andy Fenn
Jonny McEvoy
Dan McLay
Mark McNally
Tom Moses
Luke Rowe
Erick Rowsell
Scott Thwaites
Simon Yates

U23 Men’s Time Trial (Two places)
Mark Christian
Joe Kelly
Erick Rowsell

Junior Men’s Road Race (Five places)
Owain Doull
Jon Dibben
Grant Ferguson
Matthew Holmes
Sam Lowe
Alistair Slater

Junior Men’s Time Trial (Two places)
Owain Doull
Jon Dibben

Junior Women’s Road Race (Four places)
Elinor Baker
Hannah Barnes
Lucy Garner
Amy Roberts

Junior Women’s Time Trial (Two places)
Elinor Barker
Hannah Barnes

Related links
Britain up to seventh in UCI World Rankings
Cavendish previews Copenhagen Worlds course
Project Rainbow Jersey: Britain’s bid for Worlds title