Chris Froome wins 2013 Velo d’Or award

Tour de France champion Chris Froome has won the prestigious 2013 Velo d’Or award. The annual accolade for best rider of the year was awarded to Briton Froome after he topped a poll of journalists run by French magazine Velo.

In addition to clinching the Tour title in July, the Sky rider enjoyed a stand-out season with overall victories in the Tour of Oman, Criterium International, Tour de Romandie and Criterium du Dauphine as well as a stage victory in Tirreno-Adriatico.

Tour de France King of the Mountains and best young rider Nairo Quintana (Movistar) was handed the Velo award for best young rider, with Christophe Riblon (Ag2r) taking the honours as best French rider of the season.

Bradley Wiggins received the Velo d’Or last year after winning the Tour de France, Paris-Nice, Tour de Romandie, Criterium du Dauphine and Olympic gold in the individual time trial.

Wiggins and Froome are the only British riders to have received the award since it started in 1992.

Chris Froome: 2013’s greatest hits
Tour of Oman; stage five
Tour of Oman; overall
Tour of Oman; points classification
Tirreno-Adriatico; stage four
Criterium International; stage three
Criterium International; overall
Tour de Romandie; prologue ITT
Tour de Romandie; overall
Criterium du Dauphine; stage five
Criterium du Dauphine; overall
Tour de France; stage eight
Tour de France; stage 15
Tour de France; stage 17 (ITT)
Tour de France; overall