Daniel Diaz wins Tour de San Luis overall

Mattia Gavazzi wins final stage of Tour de San Luis 2013

Daniel Diaz (San Luis Somos Todos) won the Tour de San Luis overall on Sunday, taking some significant scalps including Alberto Contador (Saxo-Tinkoff), Tejay van Garderen (BMC Racing), Jurgen Van Den Broeck (Lotto-Belisol) and Vincenzo Nibali (Astana).

Local man Diaz finished in 30th spot at the end of Sunday's final stage to Juana Koslay at the same time as stage winner Mattia Gavazzi (Androni Giocattoli). Van Garderen finished second overall at 33 seconds, with Brazillian Alex Diniz (Funvic Brasilinvest) in third at 39 seconds. Contador was fourth at 1-02, a resulted boosted by winning Saturday's stage six.

Gavazzi beat sprint powerhouse Peter Sagan (Cannondale) and Francisco Ventoso (Movistar) to clinch the stage win. Stage one winner Mark Cavendish (Omega Pharma-QuickStep) missed out on the final sprint after coming into contact with another rider and slipping back.

Scott Thwaites (NetApp-Endura) was the highest placed British rider overall in 85th position, with team-mate Jonny McEvoy in 102nd in the UCI 2.1-ranked race.


Tour de San Luis 2013, stage seven: San Luis to Juana Koslay, 154.7km

1. Mattia Gavazzi (Ita) Androni Giocattoli in 3-25-48

2. Peter Sagan (Svk) Cannondale

3. Francisco Ventoso (Spa) Movistar

4. Maximiliano Richeze (Arg) Lampre-Merida

5. Bartiomiej Matysiak (Pol) CCC Polsat Polkowice

6. Juan Jose Haedo (Arg) Jamis-Hagens Berman

7. Sacha Modolo (Ita) Bardiani Valvole-CSF Inox

8. Manuel Belletti (Ita) Ag2r La Mondiale

9. Sebastian Tolosa (Arg) Buenos Aires Provincia

10. Jens Debusschere (Bel) Lotto-Belisol all same time

Final overall classification

1. Daniel Diaz (Arg) San Luis Somos Todos in 24-03-16

2. Tejay van Garderen (USA) BMC Racing at 33 secs

3. Alex Diniz (Bra) Funvic Brasilinvest at 39 secs

4. Alberto Contador (Spa) Saxo-Tinkoff at 1-02

5. Jurgen Van Den Broeck (Bel) LottoBelisol at 1-47

6. Mauro Santambrogio (Ita) Vini Fantini-Selle Italia at 2-29

7. Miguel Angel Rubiano (Col) Androni Giocattoli at 2-34

8. Javier Acevedo (Col) Jamis-Hagens Berman at 3-00

9. Bart De Clercq (Bel) Lotto-Belisol at 3-14

10. Vincenzo Nibali (Ita) Astana at 3-17

Tour de San Luis 2013: Related links

Satge four: Svein Tuft wins San Luis time trial

Stage three: Alex Diniz wins

Stage two: Mark Cavendish pipped by Sacha Modolo in San Luis

Stage one: Perfect start for Mark Cavendish in San Luis

Thank you for reading 20 articles this month* Join now for unlimited access

Enjoy your first month for just £1 / $1 / €1

*Read 5 free articles per month without a subscription

Join now for unlimited access

Try first month for just £1 / $1 / €1