Garmin-Cervelo’s 2012 squad unveiled

The American-based Garmin-Cervelo team presented its 2012 roster at the squad’s official launch in Boulder, Colorado, on Thursday.

David Millar is now the team’s sole British rider, with Daniel Lloyd and Roger Hammond missing from the 2012 line-up. Both riders are currently without a deal for next year. Now something of an elder stateman of the pro peloton, Millar added to his lengthy palmares by winning the final individual time trial stage of the 2011 Giro d’Italia in May.

>> Subscribe to Cycling Weekly this Autumn and save 35%. Enjoy the luxury of home delivery and never miss an issue <<

Irish talent Daniel Martin returns with the team and will be hoping to build on a successful 2011 season that saw the Birmingham-born man win a stage of the Vuelta a Espana, a stage of the Tour of Poland and the Giro della Toscana.

US sprinter Tyler Farrar will head up the team’s assault on bunch sprints, and Paris-Roubaix winner Johan Vansummeren will continue his classics campaign.

Garmin-Cervelo’s Grand Tour aspirations will be served by Tom Danielson and Christian Vande Velde.

“We had our strongest season in the history of the team in 2011, and we’ll be looking to build on that success in 2012,” said Garmin-Cervelo CEO Jonathan Vaughters.

“Our roster has an outstanding mix of new and returning riders, with both veteran and young talent excelling in all disciplines of the sport. This will allow us to continue to do what we do best, win as a team.”

New Zealander Jack Bauer joins the team from the British Endura team. Also present is Thomas Dekker, who rode for the Chipotle development team during 2011 after returning from a suspension for taking EPO.

Garmin-Cervelo finished the 2011 Tour de France as top team. The squad took its first ever Tour stage win this year, winning the stage two team time trial followed the next day by a bunch sprint victory for Tyler Farrar.

Garmin-Cervelo 2012 roster
Jack Bauer
Tom Danielson
Thomas Dekker
Tyler Farrar
Koldo Fernandez
Murilo Fischer
Nathan Haas
Heinrich Haussler
Ryder Hesjedal
Alex Howes
Robby Hunter
Andreas Klier
Michel Kreder
Raymond Kreder
Christophe Le-Mevel
Martijn Maaskant
Dan Martin
David Millar
Ramunas Navardauskas
Tom Peterson
Jacob Rathe
Alex Rasmussen
Sebastien Rosseler
Peter Stetina
Andrew Talansky
Christian Vande Velde
Sep Vanmarcke
Johan Vansummeren
Fabian Wegmann
David Zabriskie 

Related links

Alex Rasmussen acquitted by Danish federation over missed doping controls

Tour de France 2011: Vaughters’ Garmin-Cervelo team hits cycling’s top