Bibby takes Smithfield Nocturne in front of 10,000 race fans

Ian Bibby wins, Smithfield Nocturne 2010

Ian Bibby (Motorpoint-Marshalls Pasta) continued his winning streak with a victory in the HTC Smithfield Nocturne Elite men's circuit race in London on Saturday night.

An estimated 10,000 people attended the HTC Smithfield Nocturne throughout the day to enjoy a packed program of cycling entertainment.

Now in its fourth year, the Smithfield Nocturne has gone from strength to strength. In partnership with HTC and the London Festival of Architecture, 2010 saw a few new twists to the tried-and-tested format.

Spectators were treated to a surprise visit from HTC-Columbia's Mark Cavendish, who had travelled straight to the event from landing in the UK after abandoning the Tour de Suisse. He was greeted by a raucous crowd and was interviewed on stage by Anthony McCrossan and BBC Radio London's Robert Elms. Also enjoying the Nocturne hospitality was fashion designer Sir Paul Smith.

Sir Paul Smith and Mark Cavendish, Smithfield Nocturne 2010

Sir Paul Smith and Mark Cavendish enjoy the show. Photo: Adam Tranter

A pop-up village of local trading stalls proved to be a hit throughout the day, as was the big ‘Live' screen and the HTC Bicycle Phone Charging point. New for 2010 was a chance for families and London cyclists to ride the challenging Smithfield circuit, in the LFA Sky Ride from 3pm.

The HTC Smithfield Nocturne's race programme caters for all kinds of racing cyclist, with this year's event once again featuring the famous spectacle of the Le Mans-style Folding Bike Race. It also included the Elite Women's Criterium, Cycling Weekly Support Race, the Architects and Developers race and the crowd-pleasing Tokyo Fixed Gear Skid Competition.

As night fell, the highlight of the event commenced, the Elite Criterium. Star rider, HTC-Columbia's Matt Goss was brought forward to the start line, and was joined by the likely favourites of the UK Circuit Race scene. A predictably fast start saw riders being dropped from the off, but an early break of Darren Lapthorne (Rapha Condor Sharp), Ian Bibby (Motorpoint - Marshalls Pasta), Zak Dempster (Rapha Condor Sharp) and Jack Bauer (Endura Racing).

Various chasing groups weren't quite enough to get back the strong quartet, which had most of the major teams included. Yanto Barker (Pendragon - Le Col - Colnago) was one of the prominent chasers throughout the race but even In-form Barker couldn't prevent a gap opening of around 30 seconds.

As an hour passed, the race was coming to its finale in almost darkness. Spectators looked down the finishing straight in anticipation, as Ian Bibby (Motorpoint - Marshalls Pasta) took a closely contested sprint. Rapha Condor Sharp's Zak Dempster came in second, followed by Jack Bauer (Endura Racing).

The women's criterium was convincingly won by Hannah Barnes (Motorpoint - Marshalls Pasta), making it a double win for the team over the evening. Barnes put away Corrine Hall and Nicola Juniper with the emphatic victory.

The Cycling Weekly support race was taken by Wayne Crombie, while the folding bike race was won by Keith Henderson. The Architects and Developers race was won by James Waite of Land Securities.

The Nocturne Series continues on the July 3 in Edinburgh, and then on the August 7 in Blackpool.

For full details of the Nocturne Series please go to


Elite Circuit Race

1. Ian Bibby, Motorpoint Marshalls Pasta

2. Zak Dempster, Rapha Condor Sharp

3. Jack Bauer, Endura Racing

4. Darren Lapthorne, Rapha Condor Sharp

5. Dean Windsor, Rapha Condor Sharp

6. Ed Clancy, Motorpoint Marshalls Pasta

7. Malcolm Elliott, Motorpoint Marshalls Pasta

8. Marcel Six, Orbea, For Goodness Shakes

9. Matt Cronshaw, Rapha Condor Sharp

10. Andrew Tennant, Motorpoint Marshalls Pasta

Women's Circuit Race

1. Hannah Barnes, Motorpoint Marshalls Pasta

2. Corrine Hall, Team Corridori

3. Nicola Juniper, PCA Ciclos Uno

4. Louise Mahe, Team Mule Bar

5. Sarah King, Landgale Lightweights

6. Claire Beaumont, Rapha Condor Sharp

7. Natasha Perry, Rapha Condor Sharp

8. Sarah Bryne, Motorpoint Marshalls Pasta

9. Elise Sherwell, Pearson Cycles

10. Maryha Sennema, Kingston Wheelers

Cycling Weekly Support Race

1. Wayne Crombie, East London Velo

2. Chris Tune, unattached

3. James Waite, Pearson Cycles

4. Stuart Spies, London Dynamo Prologue

5. Mark Thomson, Dulwich Paragon

6. Robert Moore, London Phoenix

7. Arjan Planting, Affinity

8. Tony Smedly, London Dynamo Prologue

9. Andrew Sanders, Inverse RT Bikefood

10. Roger Maidment, East London Velo

Smithfield Nocturne 2010

Large crowds turned out to watch the packed schedule of events. Photos by Alistair Reid

Smithfield Nocturne 2010

Le Mans-style start for the folding bike race

Ian Bibby wins, Smithfield Nocturne 2010

Elite race winner Ian Bibby (centre) with Sir Paul Smith (left) and Mark Cavendish (right)

Related links

HTC sponsor Smithfield NocturneSmithfield Nocturne kicks off London Festival of Architecture

Thank you for reading 20 articles this month* Join now for unlimited access

Enjoy your first month for just £1 / $1 / €1

*Read 5 free articles per month without a subscription

Join now for unlimited access

Try first month for just £1 / $1 / €1

Founded in 1891, Cycling Weekly and its team of expert journalists brings cyclists in-depth reviews, extensive coverage of both professional and domestic racing, as well as fitness advice and 'brew a cuppa and put your feet up' features. Cycling Weekly serves its audience across a range of platforms, from good old-fashioned print to online journalism, and video.