British team named for European Track Championships

The race for Olympic qualification points starts at the European track championships in Guadeloupe, October 16-19

British Cycling has named its team for the 2014 European Track Championships, with a mixture of experience and new talent included in the 15-rider line-up.

Established names feature in both the men’s and women’s endurance rosters, both of which will be hoping to make their mark in the team pursuit discipline.

Ciara Horne makes her debut appearance in the women’s endurance line-up alongside Laura Trott, Elinor Barker, Katie Archibald and Joanna Rowsell.

Mark Christian joins the men’s endurance line-up of Ed Clancy, Jon Dibben, Owain Doull and Andy Tennant. One notable absentee is Bradley Wiggins who was a key part of England’s team pursuit line-up at the Commonwealth Games.

Both the sprint selections have a more experimental feel about them, with Lewis Oliva, Matt Crampton and British national champion in four disciplines Callum Skinner making up the men’s squad. Rosie Blount and Katie Marchant will represent GB in the women’s sprint disciplines.

“This European Championships marks the first opportunity for us to score Olympic qualification points for Rio and as such the squad as a whole is prepared and looking forward to this season’s racing,” said British Cycling technical director Shane Sutton.

“It’s good to see some new faces in the team with Ciara Horne, who joined the Academy programme last month, making selection as well as Mark Christian who returns to the track team as a guest rider following his strong performance at the Commonwealth Games.”

The European Track Championships take place on the French Caribbean island of Guadeloupe over October 16-19.

Great Britain team for the 2014 European Track Championships

Men’s Sprint
Matt Crampton
Lewis Oliva
Callum Skinner

Women’s Sprint
Rosie Blount
Katy Marchant

Men’s Endurance
Mark Christian
Ed Clancy
Jon Dibben
Owain Doull
Andy Tennant

Women’s Endurance
Katie Archibald
Elinor Barker
Ciara Horne
Joanna Rowsell
Laura Trott