British world championship team named

Geraint Thomas, World Championships 2009, men's road race

Mark Cavendish, Jeremy Hunt and Geraint Thomas have been announced as the riders that will make up the British men's team at the World Road Race Championship in Melbourne on October 3.

With just three spots available, British Cycling's Performance Director Dave Brailsford explained that the team was specifically built around Cavendish, with Hunt and Thomas deemed the riders capable of providing the best support for him on the Geelong course.

Cavendish, winner of five stages in this year's Tour de France, will be hoping that Hunt's wealth of experience and Thomas' pace can deliver him to a sprint finish despite being up against nations who have qualified the maximum complement of nine riders.

David Millar has been confirmed as Britain's sole representative in the elite men's time trial on September 30.

In the women's race, Britain has qualified seven riders and will be headed by Olympic gold medallist and former world champion Nicole Cooke. Cervelo riders Emma Pooley, Lizzie Armitstead and Sharon Laws will be joined by Catherine Williamson, Katie Colclough and Lucy Martin in making up the team.

Questions have been raised over whether Cooke can be fully integrated into the Great Britain set up after she complained that the Cervelo trio had worked against her at the National Championships in June. Britain will need to be united to take advantage of their numerical strength and achieve success at the Worlds.

The final line up for the women's team trial has yet to be finalised. Two of Cooke, Pooley, Laws and Emma Trott will be selected at a later date.

Alex Dowsett, Andy Fenn, Jonny McEvoy, Luke Rowe have been chosen for the mens under-23 road race. Dowsett, the current under-23 European time trial champion, is also set to double up against the clock.

Elite Men's Road Race

Mark Cavendish

Jeremy Hunt

Geraint Thomas

Elite Men's Time Trial

David Millar

Elite Women's Road Race

Lizzie Armitstead

Katie Colclough

Nicole Cooke

Sharon Laws

Lucy Martin

Emma Pooley

Catherine Williamson

Elite Women's Time Trial (four nominated, two to ride)

Nicole Cooke

Sharon Laws

Emma Pooley

Emma Trott

Under 23 Men's Road Race

Alex Dowsett

Andy Fenn

Jonny McEvoy

Luke Rowe

Under 23 Men's Time Trial

Alex Dowsett

Thank you for reading 20 articles this month* Join now for unlimited access

Enjoy your first month for just £1 / $1 / €1

*Read 5 free articles per month without a subscription

Join now for unlimited access

Try first month for just £1 / $1 / €1