Chris Froome moves ahead of Bradley Wiggins in all-time list of British winners

Chris Froome's stage eight victory in the 2016 Tour de France means that he has now amassed 34 pro victories, one more than former Sky team-mate Bradley Wiggins

(Image credit: Watson)

When Chris Froome swept down the Col de Peyresourde to take victory on stage eight of the 2016 Tour de France he elevated himself higher up the all-time list of British professional road winners.

Froome's victory on Saturday is his 34th pro win, moving him past former Sky team-mate Sir Bradley Wiggins and up to third place behind Mark Cavendish and Chris Boardman.

Thank you for reading 20 articles this month* Join now for unlimited access

Enjoy your first month for just £1 / $1 / €1

*Read 5 free articles per month without a subscription

Join now for unlimited access

Try first month for just £1 / $1 / €1