Davide Rebellin relinquishes leader's jersey as Bilbao wins stage six in Turkey

Pello Bilbao wins stage six at the Tour of Turkey as Davide Rebellin sees his overall lead slip away to Kristijan Durasek

Pello Bilbao (Caja Rural - Seguros Rga) wins Stage 6 of the 2015 Tour of Turkey

(Image credit: Watson)

Davide Rebellin saw his overall lead in the Tour of Turkey slip away as he struggled up the final climb of stage six into Selçuk, with Lampre-Merida's Kristijan Durasek usurping the Italian.

Caja Rural rider Pello Bilbao sprung a good attack in the final two kilometres to catch lone escapee Miguel Angel Lopez (Astana), and then shot clear with 100m to go to take the win.

Thank you for reading 20 articles this month* Join now for unlimited access

Enjoy your first month for just £1 / $1 / €1

*Read 5 free articles per month without a subscription

Join now for unlimited access

Try first month for just £1 / $1 / €1

Stuart Clarke is a News Associates trained journalist who has worked for the likes of the British Olympic Associate, British Rowing and the England and Wales Cricket Board, and of course Cycling Weekly. His work at Cycling Weekly has focused upon professional racing, following the World Tour races and its characters.