euskaltel tour of spain 2008 stage 1


UCI ProTour team

Only riders who are Basque or have ridden as espoirs in the Basque Country can ride for the Euskaltel team; potentially a severely limiting factor, but the team still gets good results nonetheless.

Despite losing Haimar Zubeldia to Astana, the team features many mountain goats and can still challenge in the hillier stage races.

Olympic road race champion Samuel Sanchez remains with the team, as does up-and-coming star Igor Anton as well as Amets Txurruka, who took third in the young riders? classification in the 2007 Tour de France, behind Alberto Contador and Mauricio Soler.


Josu Agirre (Spa)

Igor Antón (Spa)

Javier Aramendia (Spa)

Mikel Astarloza (Spa)

Jorge Azanza (Spa)

Andrés De Lis (Spa)

Koldo Fernández (Spa)

Aitor Galdós (Spa)

Aitor Hernández (Spa)

Markel Irizar (Spa)

Iñaki Isasi (Spa)

Andoni Lafuente (Spa)

Iñigo Landaluze (Spa)

Egoi Martínez (Spa)

Mikel Nieve (Spa)

Juan José Oroz (Spa)

Alan Pérez (Spa)

Rubén Pérez (Spa)

Samuel Sanchez (Spa)

Amets Txurruka (Spa)

Pablo Urtasun (Spa)

Iván Velasco (Spa)

Gorka Verdugo (Spa)


Benat Albizuri






Thank you for reading 20 articles this month* Join now for unlimited access

Enjoy your first month for just £1 / $1 / €1

*Read 5 free articles per month without a subscription

Join now for unlimited access

Try first month for just £1 / $1 / €1