Flecha wins Omloop Het Nieuwsblad for Team Sky

Juan Antonio Flecha wins, Omloop Het Nieuwsblad 2010

Juan Antonio Flecha scored Team Sky's first major one-day win by taking the Omloop Het Nieuwsblad Belgian classics opener on Saturday.

Flecha broke free from a six-man escape group - which included former winners Nick Nuyens (Rabobank) and Philippe Gilbert (Omega Pharma-Lotto) - within the final 20km to take the solo win and became the first Spanish rider in history to win the race.

"It's really emotional for me," Flecha said after his win. "I've been knocking on the door many times in these races and if you keep trying then sometimes, like today, the victory comes. It's a really beautiful feeling."

Flecha dedicated his win to Frank Vandenbroucke, the Belgian Classics star who tragically died last year.

Heinrich Haussler (Cervelo) furiously chased Flecha in the dying kilometres to take a slim second as Tyler Farrar (Garmin-Transitions) brought the bunch home for third.

Roger Hammond (Cervelo) was Britain's top finisher, in 19th place.

The early-season Classics action continues in Belgium tomorrow (Sunday) with Kuurne-Brussels-Kuurne. Tom Boonen (Quick Step) will be looking to repeat last year's win.


Omloop Het Nieuwsblad 2010

1. Juan Antonio Flecha (Spa) Team Sky 204.3km in 5-7-15

2. Heinrich Haussler (Ger) Cervelo at 18secs

3. Tyler Farrar (USA) Garmin-Transitions

4. Luca Paolini (Ita) Acqua & Sapone

5. Marcel Sieberg (Ger) HTC-Columbia

6. Edvald Boasson Hagen (Nor) Team Sky

7. Niko Eeckhout (Bel) An Post-Sean Kelly

8. Bernhard Eisel (Aut) HTC-Columbia

9. Tom Veelers (Ned) Skil-Shimano

10. Filippo Pozzato (Ita) Katusha all at same time


19. Roger Hammond (GB) Cervelo at same time

77. David Millar (GB) Garmin-Transitions at 4-59

103. Ian Stannard (GB) Team Sky at 10-45

125. Russell Downing (GB) Team Sky at 13-10

137. Jeremy Hunt (GB) Cervelo at 13-10

Juan Antonio Flecha tops podium, Omloop Het Nieuwsblad 2010

Juan Antonio Flecha (centre) takes Sky's first big win; with Heinrich Haussler second (left) and Tyler Farrar third (right)

George Hincapie, Omloop Het Nieuwsblad 2010

George Hincapie on the cobbles

Juan Antonio Flecha wins, Omloop Het Nieuwsblad 2010

Juan Antonio Flecha solos to victory

Tyler Farrar, Omloop Het Nieuwsblad 2010

Tyler Farrar heads the bunch home for third

Related links

Het Nieuwsblad kicks off classics season: Preview

Subscribe to Cycling Weekly magazine>>

Thank you for reading 20 articles this month* Join now for unlimited access

Enjoy your first month for just £1 / $1 / €1

*Read 5 free articles per month without a subscription

Join now for unlimited access

Try first month for just £1 / $1 / €1