Geraint Thomas wins Welsh Cyclist of the Year award

Annual Welsh Cycling Awards in Cardiff sees Geraint Thomas honoured as Elite Cyclist of the Year

Geraint Thomas wins Stage 2 of the 2015 Volta ao Algarve
(Image credit: Watson)

Geraint Thomas has won the 2015 Welsh Elite Cyclist of the Year award after his success this season, which included a memorable victory in E3 Harelbeke, overall victory in the Volta ao Algarve and his key role in helping Chris Froome to a second Tour de France victory.

Thomas's personal performance in the 2015 Tour - where he was in fifth place overall until the final few days of the race - has marked him out as a future Grand Tour contender in his own right.

There is no denying that Thomas was Wales's top performing rider of the year, and he goes into next season with a fresh set of targets in stage races.

>>> Team Sky: Now or never for Geraint Thomas at the Tour de France

Great Britain team pursuiters Ciara Horne, Amy Roberts and Elinor Barker were among those also honoured at the ceremony.

The Welsh trio were handed the Outstanding Performance of the Year award after they helped GB claim gold at the Track World Cup in Mexico last November alongside Laura Trott.

“We didn’t expect to win this at all," commented Horne. "It was really good to be able to ride together in Guadalajara and to come back with a gold medal. It’s great to be recognised by Welsh Cycling and the support over the years to get us to this level has been amazing, from both British Cycling and Welsh Cycling.”

The annual Welsh Cycling Awards not only recognise the achievements of riders, but also those that work tirelessly behind the scenes to ensure that cycling runs smoothly.

2015 Welsh Cycling Awards winners

Elite Cyclist of the Year sponsored by SD Sealants

Geraint Thomas MBE, Team Sky (Cardiff)

Outstanding Performance of the Year sponsored by Cardiff Metropolitan University

Elinor Barker, Ciara Horne and Amy Roberts

Race Organiser of the Year

Abergavenny Road Club for the British Cycling National Cyclo Cross Championships (Monmouthshire)

Volunteer of the Year

Mary Trenfield and Christine Smith, Breeze Newport (Newport)

Race Official of the Year

Richard Hopkins, Cwmcarn Paragon (Cardiff)

Go Ride Club of the Year

Towy Riders (Carmarthenshire)

Club Cyclist of the Year sponsored by Tredz Bikes

Paul Rees, Bynea Cycling Club (Carmarthenshire)

Watch: Geraint Thomas - where it all began

Coach of the Year

Garrie Tillett (Newport)

Club of the Year sponsored by Kilsby and Williams

Abergavenny Road Club (Monmouthshire)

Colin Thornton Memorial Award for Welsh Junior Performance

Ffion James, Abergavenny Road Club (Monmouthshire)

Lifetime Contribution to Cycling in Wales sponsored by USN

John Lloyd MBE John Lloyd Racing Events Ltd (Builth Wells)

Thank you for reading 10 articles this month* Join now for unlimited access

Enjoy your first month for just £1 / $1 / €1

*Read 5 free articles per month without a subscription

Join now for unlimited access

Try first month for just £1 / $1 / €1

Nigel Wynn
Former Associate Editor

Nigel Wynn worked as associate editor on, he worked almost single-handedly on the Cycling Weekly website in its early days. His passion for cycling, his writing and his creativity, as well as his hard work and dedication, were the original driving force behind the website’s success. Without him, would certainly not exist on the size and scale that it enjoys today. Nigel sadly passed away, following a brave battle with a cancer-related illness, in 2018. He was a highly valued colleague, and more importantly, n exceptional person to work with - his presence is sorely missed.