Manchester Track World Cup: Cycling Weekly’s full coverage

The opening round of the 2009 UCI track cycling world cup starts on Friday October 30 at Manchester velodrome.

The three-day event sees the cream of international track cycling talent take to the boards at the national cycling centre in Manchester, contesting numerous sprint and endurance events.

The host nation will be fielding a very strong set of riders, split into a compact sprint-focused Team Sky+ HD line-up and a larger, more traditional team wearing the read, white and blue of Team GB.

The Manchester event is the only track world cup to take place in Europe, with the other three rounds in Australia, Colombia and China. The track world championships take place in Copenhagen, Denmark, in March 2010.

Read more about the Manchester Track World Cup in our full preview>>


Manchester track world cup: News and features
Day three summary: World record for team pursuit women on another day of golden glory
Day two summary: Hoy on top again as Great Britain take three more golds
Day one summary: Gold for Hoy, Pendleton, Thomas and Newton
Third fastest pursuit of all time for Geraint Thomas
Live coverage of Friday’s track world cup sessions
Manchester track world cup preview
Great Britain and Sky+ HD teams named
Team GB unveils Manchester World Cup squad

Have we seen the last of Rebecca Romero on the track?
Cycling Weekly’s Rider Profiles
Cycling Weekly’s dummies’ guide to track racing


Manchester Track World Cup photo galleries

Day three

Day two

Day one


Schedule of events (and winners)
Friday, October 30
Women’s sprint – Victoria Pendleton (GB)
Women’s scratch Race – Belinda Goss (Australia)
Men’s individual pursuit – Geraint Thomas (GB)
Men’s Keirin – Chris Hoy (GB)
Men’s points race – Chris Newton (GB)
Men’s kilo TT – Stefan Nimke (Germany)

Saturday, October 31
Women’s points race – Lizzie Armitstead (GB)
Women’s individual pursuit – Wendy Houvenaghel (GB)
Women’s 500m TT – Anna Meares (Australia)
Women’s team sprint – Anna Meares and Kaarle McCulloch (Australia)
Men’s sprint – Chris Hoy (GB)
Men’s Madison – Kenny De Ketele and Tim Mertens (Belgium)

Sunday, November 1
Women’s Keirin – Simona Krupeckaite (Lithuania)
Women’s team pursuit – Wendy Houvenaghel, Jo Rowsell, Lizzie Armitstead (GB)
Men’s team pursuit – Steven Burke, Ed Clancy, Andy Tennant and Geraint Thomas (GB)
Men’s scratch race – Ivan Kovalev (Russia)
Men’s team sprint – Jamie Staff, Ross Edgar and Chris Hoy (Sky+HD)
Men’s JKA keirin – Matt Crampton (GB)


British riders taking part
Find out more about each rider by clicking on their name.
Team Sky+HD

Ross Edgar
Chris Hoy

Peter Mitchell

Victoria Pendleton

Jamie Staff

Team GB

Lizzie Armitstead
Steven Burke

Ed Clancy
David Daniell
Wendy Houvenaghel

Rebecca James
Jason Kenny
Chris Newton
Joanna Rowsell
Ben Swift

Andy Tennant
Geraint Thomas
Jess Varnish

Chris Newton points race Manchester world cup

Chris Newton in action during last year’s world cup round in Manchester


Track world cup on TV
The Manchester world cup will be shown on BBC, with selected coverage on terrestrial channels as well as via the red button (Freeview, cable, satellite systems) and BBC website. Uninterrupted audio coverage will come via BBC Radio Five Live Sports Extra on each day.

Friday, October 30: 19.00-23.00, Live coverage, red button/internet
Saturday, October 31: 19.00-22.30 Live coverage, red button/internet
Sunday, November 1: 14.00, Live coverage, BBC2

British Eurosport
Sunday, November 1: 17.30-19.30, Highlights, Eurosport 2


2009/2010 UCI Track Cycling World Cup
October 30-November 1: Manchester, UK
November 19-21: Melbourne, Australia
December 10-12: Cali, Colombia
January 22-24, 2010: Beijing, China
March 24-28, 2010: Track World Championships, Copenhagen, Denmark


IPC CW subs offer banner