David Millars wins 2006 Pursuit title

David Millar won his first ever senior track title on Wednesday night, taking the 4000m individual pursuit title at the first attempt in a close final against Paul Manning.

The spectators at the track were expecting a battle between Millar and Bradley Wiggins but were disappointed when the Olympic champion did not start. However they were rewarded by seeing how Millar has quickly adopted to track pursuiting.

In the qualifying session on Wednesday morning, Millar qualified second fastest, six hundredths of a second behind Manning, who set a time of 4-23.285. However after a close battle in the final, Manning slowed to record 4-25.190 in the final, while Millar improved to set a time of 4-22.322.

Chris Newton beat Ed Clancy in the ride-off for bronze, with a time of 4-28.581.

The national track championships at the Manchester velodrome continue until Saturday afternoon. There will be a full report from the championships in next week?s Cycling Weekly.

Thank you for reading 20 articles this month* Join now for unlimited access

Enjoy your first month for just £1 / $1 / €1

*Read 5 free articles per month without a subscription

Join now for unlimited access

Try first month for just £1 / $1 / €1