Chris Newton Rapha Condor Recycling 2008

RAPHA Condor team leader Chris Newton confirmed his return to form after a broken collar bone with victory in the third stage of the FBD Insurance Ras on Tuesday.

Newton spent most of the 133-kilometre race off the front of the bunch, and after the leading group was whittled down as the race progressed, he attacked rival David McCann (Ireland) inside the final kilometre to cross the line two seconds ahead.

Thank you for reading 20 articles this month* Join now for unlimited access

Enjoy your first month for just £1 / $1 / €1

*Read 5 free articles per month without a subscription

Join now for unlimited access

Try first month for just £1 / $1 / €1

Snowdon Sports is a long-established independent sports news agency, which supplies editorial to a range of media outlets - such as Cycling Weekly - as well as sports governing bodies. Snowdon Sports often covers results at Cycling Time Trials events in the UK and has long been a source of information and imagery to Cycling Weekly.