IRELAND?S David O?Loughlin claimed the scalps of three of the world?s top pursuit and time trial riders when he beat Bradley Wiggins, Brad McGee and David Millar in a four-station pursuit at the Revolution track meeting on Saturday night.

Racing in front of a sell-out crowd packed into the Manchester Velodrome, the Irish pursuit record holder clocked a time of 2-19.809 for the two kilometres to beat McGee by less than six hundredths of a seconds. Olympic pursuit champion Wiggins finished third with Millar in fourth.

The night also saw appearances from other Pro Tour road stars. Roger Hammond and Yaroslav Popovych represented Discovery Channel, while Wiggins and Millar were joined by their respective team-mates Jimmy Casper and Gilberto Simoni.

Despite the presence of these big hitters, it proved to be a night when up and coming riders prevailed in the mass start events. Junior World Scratch Champion Peter Kennaugh won the points race, while fellow under-18 Adam Blythe claimed the curtain closing scratch race. At least Wiggins was able to give the seniors a look-in when he won the six-kilometre elimination-scratch race.

In the junior women?s sprint Omnium, Anna Blythe won all her events and claimed a new national 200m record with 11.590seconds. The racing in the junior men?s sprint competition was also hot, with Jason Kenny winning the match sprint and Frenchman Ghislain Boiron successfully revenging his loss to Kenny at the junior world championships in the Keirin.

Italian pursuit (1.75km).- Team 1 (Gilberto Simoni, Roger Hammond, Matt Rowe, Peter Kennaugh, Adam Blythe, Brad McGee and Bradley Wiggins) bt Team 2 (Jimmy Casper, David O?Loughlin, Yaroslav Popyvych, Jonny Bellis, Steven Burke, Ian Stannard and David Millar).

2km pursuit.- David O?Louglin (Navigators) 2-19.809 bt McGee (Francaise des Jeux) 2-19.868, Wiggins (Cofidis) 2-22.427 and Millar (Saunier Duval) 2-26.572.

Elimination-scratch (6km).- Bradley Wiggins; 2, McGee; 3, P. Kennaugh (Glendene CC).

10km Points race.- Peter Kennaugh; 2, T. Gibb (Plowman Craven RT); 3, J. Bellis (Glendene CC).

15km Scratch.- Adam Blythe (Science in Sport); 2, S. Burke (Le Coq Sportif); 3, J. Bellis.

Junior men?s sprint.- Jason Kenny (Great Britain) 11.048 bt D. Daniell (Great Britain); 3, G. Boiron (France).

Junior men?s Keirin.- Race 1.- Christian Lyte (Great Britain); 2, Steve Hill (Great Britain); 3, Jeffrey Kuipers (Holland). Race 2.- Ghislain Boiron; 2, J. Kenny; 3, J. Hargreaves (Great Britain).

Junior women?s Sprint omnium overall.- Anna Blythe (Great Britain); 2, Lucy Ayres (Great Britain); 3, Sandi Clair (France)

Overall Future Stars Series.- Boys.- Mark Christian (North West). Girls.- Alex Greenfield (Wales). Team.- West Midlands.

Thank you for reading 20 articles this month* Join now for unlimited access

Enjoy your first month for just £1 / $1 / €1

*Read 5 free articles per month without a subscription

Join now for unlimited access

Try first month for just £1 / $1 / €1