Results: September 2011

Major race results from September

By Cycle Sport staff

Vuelta a Espana (GT) Spain

See Results, August 2011 (opens in new tab)

Giro della Romagna (1.1) Italy

Oscar Gatto (Ita) Farnese Vini-Neri

GP Jef Scherens (1.1) Belgium

Jérôme Pineau (Fra) Quick Step

Tour du Doubs (1.1) France

Arthur Vichot (Fra) FDJ

Giro di Padania (2.1) Italy

Stage one: Sacha Modolo (Ita) Colnago-CSF Inox

Stage two: Elia Viviani (Ita) Liquigas-Cannondale

Stage three: Sacha Modolo (Ita) Colnago-CSF Inox

Stage four: Ivan Basso (Ita) Liquigas-Cannondale

Stage five: Andrea Guardini (Ita) Farnese Vini-Neri

Overall winner: Ivan Basso (Ita) Liquigas-Cannondale

Memorial Rik Van Steenbergen (1.1) Belgium

Kenny Van Hummel (Ned) Skil-Shimano

GP de Québec (WT) Canada

1 Philippe Gilbert (Bel) Omega Pharma-Lotto

2 Robert Gesink (Ned) Rabobank

3 Rigoberto Uran (Col) Sky

Paris-Brussels (1.HC) Belgium

Denis Galimzyanov (Rus) Katusha

GP de Fourmies (1.HC) France

Guillaume Blot (Fra) Bretagne-Schuller

GP de Montréal (WT) Canada

1 Rui Costa (Por) Movistar

2 Pierrick Fedrigo (Fra) FDJ

3 Philippe Gilbert (Bel) Omega Pharma-Lotto

Tour of Britain (2.1)

Stage one: Mark Cavendish (GB) HTC-Highroad

Stage two: race cancelled

Stage three: Lars Boom (Ned) Rabobank

Stage four: Thor Hushovd (Nor) Garmin-Cervélo

Stage five: Mark Renshaw (Aus) HTC-Highroad

Stage six: Lars Boom (Ned) Rabobank

Stage seven: Gediminas Bagdonas (Ltu) An Post-Sean Kelly

Stage eight (a): Alex Dowsett (GB) Sky

Stage eight (b): Mark Cavendish (GB) HTC-Highroad

Overall winner: Lars Boom (Ned) Rabobank

GP de Wallonie (1.1) Belgium

Philippe Gilbert (Bel) Omega Pharma-Lotto

GP de la Somme (1.1) France

Anthony Roux (Fra) FDJ

Kampioenschap van Vlaanderen (1.1) Belgium

Marcel Kittel (Ger) Skil-Shimano

GP Industria e Commercio di Prato (1.1) Italy

Peter Sagan (Svk) Liquigas-Cannondale

GP d'Isbergues (1.1) France

Aaen Jonas Jorgensen (Den) Saxo Bank-Sungard

World time trial championships, Denmark

1 Tony Martin (Germany)

2 Bradley Wiggins (Great Britain)

3 Fabian Cancellara (Switzerland)

World road race championships, Denmark

1 Mark Cavendish (Great Britain)

2 Matt Goss (Australia)

3 André Greipel (Germany)

Omloop van het Houtland Lichtervelde (1.1) Belgium

Guillaume van Keirsbulck (Bel) Quick Step

Circuit Franco-Belge (2.1) Belgium

Stage one: Robbie McEwen (Aus) RadioShack

Stage two: Chris Sutton (Aus) Sky

Stage three: Tom Veelers (Ned) Skil-Shimano

Stage four: Robbie McEwen (Aus) RadioShack

Overall winner: Robbie McEwen (Aus) RadioShack

Thank you for reading 10 articles this month* Join now for unlimited access

Enjoy your first month for just £1 / $1 / €1

*Read 5 free articles per month without a subscription

Join now for unlimited access

Try first month for just £1 / $1 / €1

Edward Pickering is a writer and journalist, editor of Pro Cycling and previous deputy editor of Cycle Sport. As well as contributing to Cycling Weekly, he has also written for the likes of the New York Times. His book, The Race Against Time, saw him shortlisted for Best New Writer at the British Sports Book Awards. A self-confessed 'fair weather cyclist', Pickering also enjoys running.