Tour of Catalonia 2007 web logo

Spaniard Oscar Sevilla, 30, took a strong lone win in the Tour of Catalonia?s toughest stage, a gruelling 203 kilometre trek into the Pyrenees running from Tarrega to Vallnord Arinsal. His victory also propelled the Relax-Gam rider the overall lead - although he will have a tough time defending that advantage in tomorrow?s 17 kilometre uphill time trial at Ordino Arcalis.

Sevilla?s win was taken after the pint-sized climber bridged across to a five-strong group of attackers on the second last climb, the Col de Massana. He then took off alone four kilometres from the line on the un-nervingly steep ascent to the ugly ski station of Valnord- Arinsal.

Thank you for reading 20 articles this month* Join now for unlimited access

Enjoy your first month for just £1 / $1 / €1

*Read 5 free articles per month without a subscription

Join now for unlimited access

Try first month for just £1 / $1 / €1

Founded in 1891, Cycling Weekly and its team of expert journalists brings cyclists in-depth reviews, extensive coverage of both professional and domestic racing, as well as fitness advice and 'brew a cuppa and put your feet up' features. Cycling Weekly serves its audience across a range of platforms, from good old-fashioned print to online journalism, and video.