The most talked about 2008 team has officially announced its roster for next season. Team Slipstream-Chipotle – the one with the blue and orange Argyle kit – has secured the services of some very big names, including British National Champion David Millar (pictured), David Zabriskie, Tom Danielson and Magnus Backstedt.

Ten of this year’s Slipstream riders have been retained for 2008. The new additions take the squad up to 25 riders, including one as-yet-un-named rider who will be announced after the US Professional Championships this weekend.

Despite the big hitters present on the squad, the team is not registered for the UCI’s top-level ProTour, instead opting for Continental Professional status. They are relying on wildcard entries to the larger, ProTour-ranked events.

The US-based squad is run by former US Postal Service/Credit Agricole professional Jonathan Vaughters, and has a unique and very stringent anti-doping policy.

“I am encouraging our team not to point fingers,” says Vaughters. “If we don?t win I don?t want to hear people complaining that we didn?t win because everyone else was doping. That?s not what it?s about. If eighth place is the best our guy could do on a given day, then that?s the best he could do and I am OK with that. If our guys are out partying, not performing and then saying ?Well, everyone else is doping? they won?t last five minutes here.”

You can read a full interview with Vaughters, and about the team and it’s anti-doping ethos in October’s issue of Cycle Sport, out on Thursday from all good newsagents.

If no team noted, rider is already on Slipstream for 2007
David Millar from Saunier Duval
David Zabriskie from CSC
Christian Vandevelde from CSC
Tom Danielson from Discovery Channel
Danny Pate
Jason Donald
Martijn Maaskant from Rabobank Continental
Huub Duyn
Daniel Martin neo-pro
Julian Dean from Credit Agricole
Tyler Farrar from Cofidis
Lucas Eusar
Pat McCarty
Steven Cozza
Chris Sutton from Cofidis
Magnus Backstedt from Liquigas
Christophe Laurent from Agritubel
Trent Lowe from Discovery Channel
Timmy Duggan
Mike Friedman
Will Frischkorn
Tom Peterson
Ryder Hesjedal from Health Net
Kilian Patour
Plus one more to be announced after US Pro Champs

Team Slipstream-Chipotle: