Top class British field for HTC Smithfield Nocturne

Smithfield Nocturne 2009 Adam Tranter

The HTC Smithfield Nocturne will see the top names of British road racing on the start line on Saturday, June 19.

Now in the fourth year of the event, the Rapha-Condor-Sharp team are still looking for that elusive home win so will be fielding a strong team. Chris Newton, Kristian House and Tom Southam will be supported by Daren Lapthorne, Zak Dempster, Dan Craven and Jonathan Tiernan-Locke in a bid for glory in front of the London crowd.

Their main rivals are likely to be Motorpoint-Marshalls Pasta who are currently putting in a strong performance on the UK criterium scene. The A team will race at Smithfield with Olympic gold medalist Ed Clancy joined by Malcolm Elliott, Steven Burke, Andy Tennant and Ian Bibby.

Other notable contenders include Endura Racing's Rob Hayles, Ian Wilkinson and criterium specialist Jack Bauer, Sigma-Sport's Simon Richardson and Wouter Sybrandy and Yanto Barker from Pendragon - Le Col - Colnago.

Last year's support race winner Cam Austin also makes the step up to the Elite race this year as the lone representative from London Dynamo Prologue.

The Elite Criterium will get underway just before 9pm with the culmination of the racing in the darkness creating a unique nocturnal spectacle. Full rider list is now online at

Related links

HTC sponsor Smithfield Nocturne

Smithfield Nocturne kicks off London Fesitval of Architecture

Thank you for reading 20 articles this month* Join now for unlimited access

Enjoy your first month for just £1 / $1 / €1

*Read 5 free articles per month without a subscription

Join now for unlimited access

Try first month for just £1 / $1 / €1

Founded in 1891, Cycling Weekly and its team of expert journalists brings cyclists in-depth reviews, extensive coverage of both professional and domestic racing, as well as fitness advice and 'brew a cuppa and put your feet up' features. Cycling Weekly serves its audience across a range of platforms, from good old-fashioned print to online journalism, and video.