UCI announces 2010 Professional Continental teams

UCI logo

The UCI has announced the registration of 19 Professional Continental teams for the 2010 season.

The list includes both the Cofidis and BBox Bouygues Telecom teams that dropped down from ProTour level, as well as the Cervelo Test Team and the US-registered BMC Racing Team that includes world champion Cadel Evans and George Hincapie in its line-up.

All four teams will be hoping to secure invitations to the Tour de France and other major races despite only having Professional Continental status.

Surprisingly the Ceramica Flaminia, Colnago-CSF and De Rosa -Stac Plastic teams are all listed as being registered in Ireland, while the Carmiooro-NGC team is registered in Britain. This is likely for fiscal reasons because all four teams are Italian-based.  

According to article 2.16.017 of UCI regulations, teams which have been refused a Professional Continental Team place, can appeal to the Management Committee of the UCI by Friday December 4, 2009, at noon at the latest.

Missing from the list of Professional Continental teams is the troubled Contentpolis-Ampo squad from Spain.

2010 Professional Continental teams:

Acqua & Sapone (ITA)

Andalucia Cajasur (ESP)

Bbox Bouygues Telecom (FRA)

BMC Racing Team (USA)

Carmiooro - NGC (GBR)

CCC Polsat Polkowice (POL)

Ceramica Flaminia (IRL)

Cervélo Test Team (SUI)

Cofidis (FRA)

Colnago - CSF Inox (IRL)

De Rosa - Stac Plastic (IRL)

ISD - Neri (ITA)

Landbouwkrediet (BEL)

Saur - Sojasun (FRA)

Scott - Marcondes César Sao José dos Campos (BRA)

Skil - Shimano (NED)

Topsport Vlaanderen - Mercator (BEL)

Vacansoleil Pro Cycling Team (NED)

Voralberg - Corratec (AUT).

Thank you for reading 20 articles this month* Join now for unlimited access

Enjoy your first month for just £1 / $1 / €1

*Read 5 free articles per month without a subscription

Join now for unlimited access

Try first month for just £1 / $1 / €1