Nacer Bouhanni wins Tour of Beijing stage two

Nacer Bouhanni, Tour of Beijing 2013, stage two

French sprinter Nacer Bouhanni (FDJ) won the bunch gallop at the end of stage two of the 2013 Tour of Beijing on Saturday, taking over the race lead from stage one victor Thor Hushovd (BMC Racing).

Bouhanni got the better of Roberto Ferrari (Lampre-Merida) and Mitchell Docker (Orica-GreenEdge) in the fast-paced finale as Hushovd was content to roll over the line in the peloton, relinquishing his overnight lead.

Bouhanni leads Hushovd overall - though the two are tied on time - with Maxime Bouet (Ag2r) in third at one second. Bouet was part of a four-man escape group with Chad Beyer (Champion System), Massimo Graziato (Lampre-Merida) and Thomas De Gendt (Vacansoleil-DCM) earlier in the hilly 201.5km stage, grabbing himself bonus time on the intermediate sprints to climb up the standings.

Sunday's stage offers up another hilly day, featuring no less than seven categorised climbs including the category one Sihai climb just after the half-way point to Qiandiajian. It could be the first opportunity for the overall contenders to show their hand.


Tour of Beijing 2013, stage two: Huairou Studio City to Yanqing, 201.5km

1. Nacer Bouhanni (Fra) FDJ in 4-59-49

2. Roberto Ferrari (Ita) Lampre-Merida

3. Mitchell Docker (Aus) Orica-GreenEdge

4. Matti Breschel (Den) Saxo-Tinkoff

5. Alessandro Petacchi (Ita) Omega Pharma-QuickStep

6. Barry Markus (Ned) Vacansoleil-DCM

7. Jonas Van Genechten (Bel) Lotto Belisol

8. Steele Von Hoff (Aus) Garmin-Sharp

9. Luka Mezgec (Slo) Argos-Shimano

10. Elia Viviani (Ita) Cannondale all same time

Overall classificaiton after stage two

1. Nacer Bouhanni (Fra) FDJ in 9-20-13

2. Thor Hushovd (Nor) BMC Racing at same time

3. Maxime Bouet (Fra) Ag2r La Mondiale at 1 sec

4. Willem Wauters (Bel) Vacansoleil-DCM at 3 secs

5. Luka Mezgec (Slo) Argos-Shimano at 4 secs

6. Roberto Ferrari (Ita) Lampre-Merida

7. Chad Beyer (USA) Champion System at 5 secs

8. Nikolas Maes (Bel) Omega Pharma-QuickStep at 6 secs

9. Mitchell Docker (Aus) Orica-GreenEdge at 6 secs

10. Olivier Kaisen (Bel) Lotto-Belisol at 7 secs

Josh Edmondson

Steve Cummings leads BMC

Thomas De Gendt in escape group

Nacer Bouhanni wins

Bouhanni assumes the race lead

Related links

Thor Hushovd wins Tour of Beijing stage one

Thank you for reading 10 articles this month* Join now for unlimited access

Enjoy your first month for just £1 / $1 / €1

*Read 5 free articles per month without a subscription

Join now for unlimited access

Try first month for just £1 / $1 / €1

Nigel Wynn
Former Associate Editor

Nigel Wynn worked as associate editor on, he worked almost single-handedly on the Cycling Weekly website in its early days. His passion for cycling, his writing and his creativity, as well as his hard work and dedication, were the original driving force behind the website’s success. Without him, would certainly not exist on the size and scale that it enjoys today. Nigel sadly passed away, following a brave battle with a cancer-related illness, in 2018. He was a highly valued colleague, and more importantly, n exceptional person to work with - his presence is sorely missed.