Adam Duggleby wins National Masters road race title

British road race round-up (June 7-8): News and results from around the UK

Adam Duggleby, scratch race, British track national championships 2012

Sporting cuts and bruises from his crash at the London Nocturne the previous night, Adam Duggleby (Wheelbase Altura MGD) bounced back in style to land the National Masters A Road Race title at the first attempt.

The 29-year-old Leeds rider, who was in the leading four-man group before crashing out on the third-last corner at Smithfield Market, sprinted to victory after 88 miles of racing on the Cublington circuit, in Buckinghamshire, ahead of Chris Macnamara (Pedal Heaven Colbornes RT), who took the Masters B (age 35-39) title.

Duggleby was caught at the back when the field split halfway through the combined A and B eight-lap race, a group of around 15 riders gong clear, and had to chase hard for some ten miles to get back up.

“It took it out of me, but although there was a lot of attacking nothing got away after that and I was happy to leave it to a sprint,” said Duggleby.

“I didn’t really expect to win after what had happened, I was feeling a bit sore and tired, and after breaking my bike I had to ride a spare one and was setting it up at 7am.”

Winner of the elite women’s race at the London Nocturne, in-form Nicola Juniper (Echelon Rotor) followed up with victory in the 50-mile women’s championship, which combined all seven age groups, as she outsprinted Laura Massey (Epic Cycles-Scott WRT) on the finishing climb with third place going to Dame Sarah Storey (Pearl Izumi Sports Tours International).

Elsewhere, Joanna Rowsell led a 1-2-3 for Wiggle Honda in the Holme Valley Wheelers Two-Day stage race in West Yorkshire, with a strong performance in the time trial underpinning her victory.

Team-mate Laura Trott won stage one and three, but Rowsell was 10 seconds ahead in the final overall, with Trott second and Elinor Barker third.

In the men’s race, Giles Drake (Leisure Lakes) took the overall win – again having taken a convincing victory in the stage two time trial. Dan Evans (Team Elite) was second overall.

In Surrey, Albert Ellison (VC Meudon) secured victory in the Surrey League race at Lingfield, promoted by Oxted CC over a 65-mile course.

The 20-year-old second category rider from near Farnham held off Dulwich Paragon CC rider Joel Natale from London, while Will Adams (Velosport) was third. VC Meudon’s Richard Unwin was best of the veterans, sixth overall.

And in Yorkshire, 22-year-old Dominic Smith (Retford and District Wheelers) held off the evergreen John Tanner, the former Commonwealth Games rider and Premier Calendar winner, to win the Upton CC Road Race in West Yorkshire.

Both from the Doncaster area, Smith got the better of 46-year-old Tanner in a two-up sprint after the duo had escaped on the last of nine laps and crossed the line around six seconds clear of the bunch at the end of the race on the Hemsworth circuit near Pontefract.

North of the border, Jack Barrett (Rigmar Racers) won the prestigious Anderside Classic at Strathaven after sprinting to victory ahead of five breakaway rivals.

The in-form 21-year-old from Kingussie, who also won the previous week’s Gifford Road Race, was five seconds ahead of Scott McCrossan (Paisley Velo), while Alex Coutts (Edinburgh RC) was third.

With over 5,000 metres of climbing, the race was run off on a figure of eight course which took in five climbs, quickly separating the strong riders out in a race which saw just 24 of the 40 starters reach the finish line.

Matt Bottrill wins National 50-mile time trial

Matt Bottrill wins in Dorset ahead of Michael Hutchinson as Hayley Simmonds wins the women's event

Paul Gamlin wins Finsbury Park CC 50 time trial

British time trial round-up (June7-8): News and results from around the UK

Thank you for reading 20 articles this month* Join now for unlimited access

Enjoy your first month for just £1 / $1 / €1

*Read 5 free articles per month without a subscription

Join now for unlimited access

Try first month for just £1 / $1 / €1