Rudy Project team move ahead in Revolution Series

Rudy Project RT, Revolution 2013 Glasgow

Rudy Project Racing team overtook the Telegraph All Stars to lead the Revolution Series on a night of high-quality racing at the Sir Chris Hoy Velodrome in Glasgow on Saturday.

Sir Chris Hoy himself watched all the Round 2 action - Elite Championship, HOY Future Stars and a blend of elite sprint and endurance racing - as well as launching new products in the HOY bikes range.

A talented line-up of Scottish riders also showed good form with Callum Skinner, Ross Edgar, Eileen Roe and Charline Joiner among those to delight the home crowd.

In the afternoon session, Jake Ragan (Champion System/Club Roost RT) dominated the UCI Points Race, the first Elite Championship of the day. Kalz and Hesslich worked well together to secure second for Kalz, with Wim Stroetinga (Telegraph All Stars) third.

Ross Edgar then took a Scottish victory in the Elite Championship Flying Lap in at time of 13.836". Hesslich was second in 13.850", and Chris Latham (WD40) third (14.040").

Dutchman Jesper Asselman triumphed in the Elimination Race for Madison Genesis, with Scott Jacob (HMT-Sportscover) second and Austrian Andreas Muller (Madison Genesis) third.

Rudy Project RT provided the highlight of the evening with a fantastic ride in the 1km Madison Time Trial. They clocked 55.472" to take a comfortable win before targeting Hoy and Arnaud Tournant's world record of 54.549": "We will attack the #RevolutionSeries Record in #Manchester and #London," tweeted Hesslich.

Rudy Project RT have 78 points overall, lead standings by seven points from Telegraph All Stars (78). Team Sky sit third on 67 points and Rapha Condor JLT fourth on 64.

Away from the Elite Championship, a fine line-up of Scottish talent kept the crowd happy - particularly when Skinner beat Robert Kanter of Germany in the UCI Sprint Final and raised the biggest cheer of the night.

Roe took second in the points race, narrowly missing out to Nina Kessler (Boels-Dolmans), and another second place in the Elimination Race. Ciara Horne (Team USN) rode an superb race to lap the field and win. Elis Ligtlee of the Netherlands triumphed in the women's sprint final, and at the very end of the night, there was time for French duo Clara Sanchez and Quentin Lafargue to win the Keirin finals.

A minute's silence was immaculately observed at both the afternoon and evening sessions following the tragic accident in Glasgow on Friday evening.

Round 2 television highlights will be shown on BT Sport 2 at 7pm on Thursday, December 5. Repeated on BT Sport 1, Friday December 6, 4.15pm and Saturday December 7 at 3pm.

Callum Skinner

Sir Chris Hoy velodrome

Sir Chris Hoy talks to Hugh Porter (left)

Rudy Project team on top

Thank you for reading 20 articles this month* Join now for unlimited access

Enjoy your first month for just £1 / $1 / €1

*Read 5 free articles per month without a subscription

Join now for unlimited access

Try first month for just £1 / $1 / €1

Founded in 1891, Cycling Weekly and its team of expert journalists brings cyclists in-depth reviews, extensive coverage of both professional and domestic racing, as well as fitness advice and 'brew a cuppa and put your feet up' features. Cycling Weekly serves its audience across a range of platforms, from good old-fashioned print to online journalism, and video.