Three bronze medals for young British team at final Track World Cup

Jon Dibben, Track World Cup, Manchester, day two

Great Britain's youthful squad came away from the final round of the UCI Track World Cup in Guadalajara, Mexico, with a trio of bronze medals.

With world championships qualification points already secured from the previous rounds, British Cycling elected to take a young team to Mexico in order for them to gain valuable experience at the World Cup event.

The squad aquitted themselves well, with bronze medals in the men's and women's team sprints, and bronze for Lewis Oliva in the men's keirin.

Great Britain's men's team pursuit quartet of Jonathan Dibben, Jacob Ragan, Chris Latham and Oliver Wood failed to make the finals after qualifying in 13th spot. The result masks the fact that Ragan, Latham and Wood all made their World Cup debut at the event - and had to cope with the absence of experienced hand Andy Tennant, who was forced to withdraw from the event with illness. Dibben went on to finish just outside the medals in the men's omnium in fourth.

Dani King was the sole women's endurance representative for Britain, and she took part in the women's scratch race and a first appearance in the omnium, where she placed fifth.

With no Great Britain line-up in the women's team pursuit, it was down to the Welsh USN squad of Ciara Horne, Amy Hill, Hayley Jones and Manon Lloyd to fly the flag. They just missed out on a ride for a podium spot by qualifying fifth.

With several nations also using the event as a way of giving new riders a taste of international competition, there were several new faces on the podium. China's Junhong Lin and Tianshi Zhong made their mark on the women's sprint events as part of the Max Success Pro Cycling trade team, with gold in the team sprint and first and second in the individual sprint.

Watch highlights of the UCI Track World Cup in Guadalajara below.

Results: UCI Track World Cup round 3, Guadalajara, Mexico (January 17-19)

Men's sprint

1. Hugo Haak (Ned)

2. Max Niederlag (Ger)

3. Sam Webster (NZl)


10. Callum Skinner (GBr)

15. Lewis Oliva (GBr)

Men's 1km time trial

1. Scott Sunderland (Aus)

2. Krzysztof Maskel (Pol)

3. Hugo Haak (Ned)


5. Callum Skinner (GBr)

Men's individual pursuit

1. Jenning Huizenga (Ned)

2. Mauro Agostini (Arg)

3. Stefan Kueng (Sui)


15. Jonathan Dibben (GBr)

Men's team pursuit

1. Australia

2. Switzerland

3. Germany


13. Great Britain

Men's team sprint

1. Netherlands

2. Germany

3. Great Britain

Men's keirin

1. Matthijs Buchli (Ned)

2. Santiago Ramirez (Col)

3. Lewis Oliva (GBr)

Men's points race

1. Kirill Sveshnikov (Rus)

2. Thomas Scully (NZl)

3. Roman Lutsyshyn (Ukr)


8. Jonathan Mould (Wal)

12. Jacob Ragan (GBr)

Men's Madison

1. New Zealand (Bevin, Scully)

2. Belgium (De Buyst, De Ketele)

3. Switzerland (Kueng, Schir)


12. Great Britain (Ragan, Latham)

Men's omnium

1. Tirian McManus (Aus)

2. Jasper De Buyst (Bel)

3. Thomas Boudat (Fra)


4. Jonathan Dibben (GBr)

Women's sprint

1. Junhong Lin (MSP)

2. Tianshi Zhong (MSP

3. Wai Sze Lee (HKg)


7. Victoria Williamson (GBr)

11. Danielle Khan (GBr)

Women's 500m time trial

1. Anastasiia Voinova (Rus)

2. Miriam Welte (Ger)

3. Wai Sze Lee (HKg)


7. Victoria Williamson (GBr)

Women's team pursuit

1. Canada

2. USA

3. Australia


5. Wales

Women's team sprint

1. Max Success Pro Cycling (Chn)

2. Russia

3. Great Britain

Women's keirin

1. Wai Sze Lee (HKg)

2. Fatehah Mustapa (YSD)

3. Sandie Clair (Fra)


9. Victoria Williamson (GBr)

Women's scratch race

1. Xiao Juan Diao (HKg)

2. Jannie Salcedo (Col)

3. Evgeniya Romanyuta (Rus)


14. Dani King (GBr)

Women's omnium

1. Katarzyna Pawlowska (Pol)

2. Isabella King (Aus)

3. Laurie Berton (Fra)


5. Dani King (GBr)

Thank you for reading 5 articles this month* Join now for unlimited access

Enjoy your first month for just £1 / $1 / €1

*Read 5 free articles per month without a subscription

Join now for unlimited access

Try first month for just £1 / $1 / €1