Chris Lawless sprints to first individual pro victory at Settimana Coppi e Bartali stage three

The 22-year-old takes advantage of a split in the bunch on stage three of the Italian race

Chris Lawless at the 2018 Tour Down Under (Sunada)

(Image credit: Yuzuru SUNADA)

Team Sky's Chris Lawless took his first professional win on Saturday at the Settimana Coppi e Bartali, sprinting ahead of Paolo Toto (Sangemini-MG.Kvis) and Lorenzo Rota (Bardiani-CSF) from a reduced field.

The 171km course looked ideal for the 22-year-old to try his luck at giving Sky their second victory of the race, having taken victory on the stage 1b team time trial, with a pan flat circuit to Crevalcore in store for the riders.

Thank you for reading 20 articles this month* Join now for unlimited access

Enjoy your first month for just £1 / $1 / €1

*Read 5 free articles per month without a subscription

Join now for unlimited access

Try first month for just £1 / $1 / €1

Richard Windsor

Follow on Twitter: @richwindy

Richard is digital editor of Cycling Weekly. Joining the team in 2013, Richard became editor of the website in 2014 and coordinates site content and strategy, leading the news team in coverage of the world's biggest races and working with the tech editor to deliver comprehensive buying guides, reviews, and the latest product news.

An occasional racer, Richard spends most of his time preparing for long-distance touring rides these days, or getting out to the Surrey Hills on the weekend on his Specialized Tarmac SL6 (with an obligatory pub stop of course).